Ask Us!

Web Resources

Print Resources



MIT Program in Science, Technology and Society

MIT History Faculty


Michelle Baildon
History, History of Science and Technology, Philosophy and Anthropology Librarian
baildon@MIT.EDU





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      edison

Science, Technology & Society

Selected Web Resources

Resources at MIT | Other resources

Resources at MIT

Science, Technology & Society Databases

Science, Technology & Society E-Journals

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


Other resources

19th Century Scientific American (University of Rochester)
Text and images from Scientific American magazine of 1845, with indices from 1845-1859.

Astronomiae Historia
History of Astronomy web site jointly maintained by Bonn University and Commission 41, the history section of the International Astronomical Union. Contains about 400 web pages and approximately 8,000 external links.

Avista
A web site concerned with Medieval Science and Technology. Producted by the Association Villard de Honnecourt for the Interdisciplinary Study of Medieval Science, Technology, and Art, a section of the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University.

Center for the History of Physics
From the American Institute of Physics. Contains a wealth of resources on the history of physics, astronomy and geophysics. The Center runs the Niels Bohr Library, dedicated to the history of physics and related fields.

Chemical Heritage Foundation
The web site of the Chemical Heritage Foundation includes web resources in the history of chemistry, including a chemical history tour that illustrates the ways in which chemical and molecular science has changed the world.

Einstein Archives Online
A joint project of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the California Institute of Technology. Contains digitized manuscripts of Einstein's scientific and non-scientific writings.

Famous Astronomers and Astrophysicists (Kent State University)
Short introductions to almost one hundred famous astronomers and astrophysicists from the Classical Period to the present day.

H-Sci-Med-Tech
History of Medicine web site and discussion list from Michigan State University.

Hist-Sciences-Tech
An excellent history of science and technology website from the University of Paris. Includes access to catalogs and databases. In French and English.

History of Science Society
The world's largest history of science Society. Publishes ISIS, the widest circulating journal in the field of history of science.

IEEE History Center
Web site of the History Center of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Contains resources for history of technology, especially history of electrical and computing engineering.

Internet History of Science Source Book (Fordham University)
A comprehensive history of science site comprised of three sections: Ancient Science, Medieval Science, and Modern Science.

Multi-repository Mathematics Collections (University of Michigan)
Primary source full text works of great nineteenth and twentieth century mathematicians including Gauss, Bernoulli, Dedekind, Zermelo, Markov, Poincare, and Weierstrass.

NASA: Key Documents in the History of Space Flight
Significant documents that have affected the history of the United States space program.

The Newton Project
Primary source Isaac Newton manuscripts from Imperial College, London. Focusses on Newton's theological, alchemical, and administrative texts.

PSIgate
The Physical Sciences Information Gateway offers access to quality web resourses in astronomy, physics, chemistry, earth sciences, and history of same. PSIgate is a project of the British Museum, the British Library, and several British academic institutions.

Sciper Project (Universities of Leeds and Shefflield)
Identifies and analyses the representation of science, technology and medicine, as well as the inter-penetration of science and literature, in the general periodical press in Britain between 1800 and 1900.

Selected Web Resources in the History of Science
A list of the most authoritative history of science web sites. Each web site is reviewed. Jointly maintained by the University of Houston and the University of Texas.

Society for the History of Technology
SHOT is an interdisciplinary organization based at Johns Hopkins University, concerned not only with the history of technological devices and processes, but also with the relations of technology to science, politics, social change, the arts and humanities, and economics.

Sources for History of Quantum Physics
Compiled in 1967 by Thomas Kuhn, John Heilbron, Paul Forman, and Lini Allen. Covers the development of Relativity and Quantum Theory from 1898-1933.

Women Mathematicians (Agnes Scott College)
Biographies of over 150 women mathematicians. Includes links to other resources on women mathematicians.

 


empty

This page was last updated on 04/02/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT