Home

U.S. Government
- Collection Policy
- Access Policy

State & Local Government

International







Bob Kehner
Dewey Library
kehner@mit.edu


MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Government Information

U.S. Government

Collection Scope | Access Policy | Related Pages at MIT | Databases | Outside Resources

depository logo

Collection Scope

The MIT Libraries' federal government information collection reflects the subject strengths of the Institute's academic programs.

Our strongest research-level collections include:

· earth sciences
· environmental sciences
· nuclear science
· economics
· political science
· urban and regional planning

Government agencies represented include, but are not restricted to:

· Bureau of the Census
· Congress
· Executive Office of the President
· Department of Labor
· Department of Energy
· Department of Transportation
· National Aeronautics and Space Administration
· United States Geological Survey

[Collection Development Policy for Federal Government Information]

Access Policy

As a designated federal depository, the MIT Libraries make government publications available for the free use of the general public. [Access Policy for Federal Government Information]

Related Pages at MIT

Patents

Tax Treaties

U.S. Congressional Publications

Databases

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - FirstSearch
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products (July 1976+). MIT only

Censtats
A free service for some U.S. Census Bureau data, including Census Tract Street Locator, USA Counties, County Business Patterns, Zip Code Business Patterns, as well as others. Some of these databases may also be available on CD-ROMs within the MIT libraries.

CQ.com on Congress
CQ.com on Congress tracks current legislation in the U.S. Congress. It includes the full text of bills (1987+), hearings transcripts (1989+), House and Senate reports and documents (1989+), and the Congressional Record (1987+), as well as CQ Weekly (1983+). MIT only

Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive is a collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 35,000 declassified documents - totalling more than 200,000 pages - have been gathered through use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). MIT only

ERIC
Over 800,000 references to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines.

GeoRef
Includes 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geosciences. MIT only

GPO Access
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government, including over 1,500 databases of Federal information.

LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times. MIT only

LexisNexis Congressional
Indexing and abstracts for U.S. congressional publications. Includes the full text of reports, bills, public laws, and legislative histories and links to selected fulltext documents, committee prints, and congressional hearings testimony. Also contains information on members of Congress, campaign financial data, congressional voting records, an other information about the legislative process. MIT only

LexisNexis Statistical
Indexing and abstracts for over 100,000 U.S. government and non-government statistical publications with links to selected fulltext documents and agency web sites. Selected tables can be imported to spreadsheets. MIT only

NTIS
Produced by the U.S. Department of Commerce, the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) database is the major resource for locating U.S. Government-sponsored research reports and studies in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences medicine and health sciences, agriculture, and social sciences. It also contains the results of government-sponsored research an development from countries outside the U.S. MIT only

PubMed Medline
Complete MEDLINE database, 1966-present. Enhanced with links to GenBank and other protein and nucleotide sequencing databases. Also provides relate references. These features unique to this version of MEDLINE. Databas indexes more than 3500 journals in biomedical research, neurosciences an clinical medicine.

STAT-USA Internet
STAT-USA Internet is a database produced by the U.S. government to promote international trade for U.S. exporters. The section entitled State of the Nation includes financial and economic data on the U.S. economy. International marketing information, including country commercial guides, industry sector analysis reports, country background notes, and trade leads are found in the GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities) and NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) sections. Available on local workstations in Dewey Library; on-site access only.

Thomas
Legislative and Congressional information from the Library of Congress

World News Connection
World News Connection is the successor database to the printed Daily Reports, published by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service. WNC contains full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation. It's an essential source for following political, socioeconomic, technical, and environmental issues and events in non-U.S. media. MIT only

Outside Resources

U.S. Federal Government Information - Government Documents Round Table, American Library Association

University of Michigan Documents Center

CalTech Government Information

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:27 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT