Ask Us!

Databases and Electronic Journals

Electronic Text


Foreign Language News and Newspapers

MIT Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures



Patsy Baudoin
Foreign Languages and Literatures Librarian
patsy@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Foreign Languages and Literature

Electronic Texts

Sites listed on this page are authoritative web sites of electronic texts in these languages. They are not maintained by MIT.

French  |  German | Spanish

French Electronic Texts

ABU, la Bibliothèque Universelle: Free access to publicly available francophone texts, by author or title — L'Association des Bibliophiles Universels

ARTFL: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language. Allows searching of 2000+ texts. Texts cannot be downloaded or read in full, although several pages of context are available — University of Chicago

Gallica 2000: 80,000 digitized documents from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century — Bibliothèque Nationale de France

UVa's French Online Resources: Well marked-up collection of French texts. MIT users may only access publicly available texts — University of Virginia

Meta-Sites: Sites that point to many French e-text sites

GIRI: Guide des indispensables de la recherche dans Internet (Guide to essential research materials on the Internet) — University of Montreal

WESSWEB — French Literature: Electronic text collections identified by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Some sites are duplicated above.

return to top

German Electronic Texts

19th-Century German Stories: Selection of "short narrative works in German from the late 18th to the end of the 19th centuries, featuring verified texts from documented editions and, whenever possible, English translations" — Virginia Commonwealth University

UVa's German Online Resources: Well marked-up collection of German texts. MIT users may only access publicly available texts — University of Virginia

Meta-Sites: Sites that point to many German e-text sites

WESSWEB — German Literature: Electronic text collections identified by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Some sites are duplicated above.

return to top

Spanish Electronic Texts

Antología del Ensayo Ibero e Iberoamericano: Anthology of Spanish Essays. Influential essays from more than five centuries, organized alphabetically and by century — Proyecto Ensayo Hispánico, University of Georgia

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes: A digitized collection of Spanish and Castillian writings. Includes many categories of writing, including literature, literary criticism and linguistics — Universidad de Alicante and Banco Santander Central Hispano

Comedia: "... good, standard texts prepared by a number of specialists in the field of Golden Age theater studies. ... Most of the texts were edited from an early imprint or imprints and, as such, are 'diplomatically' edited in their present form. These texts are, therefore, not to be considered as 'critical' or definitive editions but should prove adequate for most purposes to which they will be put." — Association for Hispanic Classical Theater Inc. (maintained by University of Arizona)

Don Quixote de la Mancha Exhibit: A digital exhibit of translations and illustrations of Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra's novel Don Quixote de la Mancha — Johns Hopkins University

Golden Age Spanish Sonnets: Verse translations of Golden Age Spanish sonnets by Professor of Spanish, Alix Ingber — Sweet Briar College

Meta-Sites: Sites that point to many Spanish e-text sites

WESSWEB — Spanish Literature: Electronic text collections identified by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Some sites are duplicated above.

return to top

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 02/20/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT