Ask Us!

Finding a Job

Applications and Resumes

Company Directories

General Sources and Career Planning

Interviewing

Job Market

Salaries and Benefits

Selected Professions

 


 


Anita Perkins
Industrial Relations Librarian
perkins@mit.edu

 




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Finding a Job

General Sources and Career Planning

Several library databases contain career information resources. These databases are in Vera ( http://libraries.mit.edu/vera):

Business Source Premier contains country-specific career information from Going Global, Inc. Click on Country Reports; select a country; click on Career Guide.
Shortcut URL: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/buspremier

Plunkett Research Online contains job market information and links to job search engines. See “Job Seekers/Careers” section.
Shortcut URL is http://libraries.mit.edu/get/plunketts

Bolles, Richard Nelson: What color is your parachute? A Practical manual for job hunters & career changers. Berkeley, CA, Ten Speed Press (latest on reference). Reference HF5382.7.B69

Bricker's international directory: university-based executive development programs . Princeton, NJ, Peterson's Guides (latest on reference). Reference HD20.B7

Career guide to industries . Washington, D.C., U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics (latest on reference). Reference HF5382.5.U5.C316
(Also available online at http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/home.htm)

Careers in nonprofits & government agencies . San Francisco, CA, Wetfeet Inc., 2005. Reference HD2769.2.U6.W466 2006

Directory of executive recruiters . Fitzwilliam, NH, Kennedy & Kennedy Inc. (latest). Reference HF5549.5.R44.D582

Directory of outplacement and career management firms . Fitzwilliam, NH, Kennedy & Kennedy Inc. (latest). Reference HF5549.5.D55.D5
(Also on CD-ROM at Reserve Desk)

Enelow, Wendy S.: Insider's guide to finding a job: expert advice from America's top employers and recruiters. Indianapolis, IN: JIST Works, c2005. HF5382.7.E54 2005

Farr, J. Michael: Best jobs for the 21 st century, Indianapolis , IN , JIST Works, 2004. HF5381.15.F37 2006

Ferguson career resource guide for women and minorities . New York, Ferguson, c2006. Reference Collection HF5382.65.F46 2006

Guide to your career / the Princeton Review . New York, Random House (latest). HF5382.5.U5.G85

Hansen, Katharine: A Foot in the door: networking your way into the hidden job market. Berkeley, Ten Speed Press, 2000.  HF5382.7.H354 2000

Heiberger, Mary Morris: The Academic job search handbook. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press, 2001. Hayden Library LB2331.72.H45 2001

Internships . Lawrenceville, NJ, Peterson's/Thomson Learning (latest). Reference L901.I66

Job choices: Diversity Edition . Bethlehem, PA, National Association of Colleges and Employers (latest). Reference HF5382.5.U5.P537

Job choices ...in science, engineering & technology . Bethlehem, PA, National Association of Colleges and Employers (latest). Reference HF5382.5.U5.C6973

O'Rourke, James S.: Beginning your career seaarch: a hands-on approach to building your career portfolio. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Prentice Hall, c2007. HF5382.7.O77 2007b

Planning job choices . Bethlehem, PA, National Association of Colleges and Employers (latest). Reference HF5382.5.U5.C6972

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 07/17/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT