Ask Us!

Databases

African/African American Sites

Asian/Asian American Sites

Hispanic/Latino Sites

Indigenous Peoples Sites

Jewish Sites

Miscellaneous Sites



Marlene Manoff
Associate Head
Collection Manager,
Humanities Library
mmanoff@MIT.EDU




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides      

Ethnic and Minority Studies

African/African American Sites

  • African American Environmentalist Association
    "The African American Environmentalist Association (AAEA), founded in 1985, is ... dedicated to protecting the environment, enhancing human, animal and plant ecologies, promoting the efficient use of natural resources and increasing African American participation in the environmental movement."
  • African American Perspectives (Library of Congress) - "The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection" presents a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture, spanning almost one hundred years from the early nineteenth through the early twentieth centuries.
  • African Studies Center (University of Pennsylvania) - site on African Studies, maintained by U. of Pennsylvania's Professor Sandra T. Barnes.
  • American Slave Narratives - an online anthology of first-hand accounts of former slaves and their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms.
  • Amistad Research Center (Tulane University) - "An independent archives, library, and museum dedicated to preserving African-American and ethnic history and culture.
  • Au Magazine - a daily urban business (African American art and entertainment business) news site.
  • Black/African Development Info - lists available by FTP, WWW, Gopher, Telnet, and BBS's as well as mailing lists concerning African American research. Maintained by Arthur R. McGee & Associates.
  • Faces of Science: African-Americans in the Sciences (LSU) - "Profiled here are African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering. The accomplishments of the past and present can serve as pathfinders to present and future engineers and scientists." Maintained by Mitchell C. Brown, Louisiana State University.
  • Future Black Faculty Database (Berkeley) - devoted to promoting a more proportionate level of African American faculty on campuses across the nation, this site contains records of doctoral candidates, recent graduates, and professionals seeking positions in academia.
  • Visit the Levi Jordan Plantation web site. An archaeological and historical site in Brazoria, Texas, the major focus of the site is to discuss how people (many of whom were born in Africa) used African beliefs and ways of using material culture to deal with the oppression of slavery and its aftermath, tenancy.
  • NAACP Online (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) - online publication of the NAACP, it contains it's own newsletter, related news, and information on the organization.
  • National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) - contains information about the organization, membership, chapters, how to join, and news information.
  • North American Slave Narratives, Beginnings to 1920 Part of Documenting the American South, this series, "...when completed ... will include all the narratives of fugitive and former slaves published in broadsides, pamphlets, or book form in English up to 1920" as well as biographies of fugitive and former slaves. Files are HTML and SGML. Edited by William L. Andrews, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Portrait of Black Chicago (NARA) - "John H. White, a 28-year-old photographer with the Chicago Daily News... saw his assignment as 'an opportunity to capture a slice of life, to capture history.' His photographs portray the difficult circumstances faced by many of Chicago's African American residents in the early 1970s..."
  • Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library) - details the history, collections, exhibits, and miscellaneous information about this Center.
  • Black History Database - searchable database of interesting facts of black hitory; submissions to the database welcome.
  • The Universal Black Pages - searchable database and links to other African American pages dealing with education, entertainment, history, and other miscellaneous subjects.

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 10/21/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT