Databases, E-Journals and Related Pages

Web Sites at MIT & Beyond

New Books

Sources in Print

Statistics

Industry Information





Chris Sherratt
Energy, Environment and Nuclear Engineering Librarian
gcsherra@mit.edu



MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Energy

Statistics

The Libraries' collection includes numerous print and electronic resources containing statistics and data on energy. Following are some leading electronic resources for your research.

Databases:

Lexis Nexis Statistical (MIT only)
Indexing and abstracts for over 100,000 U.S. government and non-government statistical publications. Contains tables of data on energy, the environment and many related topics. Browse its subject list for search terms.

Source OECD (MIT only)
A rich source for statistics on many aspects of energy such as fossil fuels, electricity, renewables, and policies. Contains the full-text of OECD print titles (most also are in print at Dewey Library) and a set of statistical databases from the International Energy Agency (IEA). Main resources include:

UN Common Database (MIT only)
Comprehensive global statistical database, covering all United Nations countries and areas. Series on energy cover topics such as consumption, exports, imports, and production.

Historical Statistics of the U.S. (MIT only)
This compendium source for American history includes over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources, many of which cover energy topics such as: sales, production, consumption, imports and exports, and infrastructure.

Web Sites:

Department of Energy:

International Energy Agency (IEA)
Provides statistics by country/region and product for IEA-member and non-member countries.

BP Statistical Review of World Energy
Provides historical data series and interactive charting.

World Energy Council: Online Publications
Full-text of publications from this multi-energy non-governmental organisation.

Data Archives:
Data archives provide access to micro-level datasets to be analyzed in software packages, many of which are the result of surveys that can cover energy topics.

Harvard-MIT Data Center (HMDC) (MIT only)
Houses data collections from ICPSR, the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, and others.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (MIT only)
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data. Browse their subject thesaurus for surveys covering energy topics such as assistance, consumption, and policy.

Public Opinion Resources
This MIT Libraries' guide provides links to several resources that have both statistics and micro-level data sets from public opinion surveys, many of which ask respondents about energy topics.

See Also:

Social Science Data Services

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 07/17/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT