|
Data Services > Data
Access by Subject > Multi-subject Sources
See also: Data Centers,
Census,
GIS, Subject
Guides, and Subject
Experts.
Multi-subject Sources
The following resources can be used for research in multiple subject areas.
Note: most are only listed on this page and not repeated on each page of
data by subject.
Databases | Web
Sites | Reference Books
Databases
China
Data Online
Monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical
databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level,
and financial indicators of industries.
Harvard-MIT Data Center (HMDC)
Resource
for MIT affiliates to store and retrieve data. Houses data collections
from ICPSR, the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, and others.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Compendium source for American history covers the earliest times to present.
Includes over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. Tables may be
downloaded in Excel or .csv.
Indiastat.com
Provides comprehensive statistical tables on major Indian socio-economic
parameters. Data
can be downloaded in Excel or HTML formats.
Inter-university Consortium for Political
and Social Research (ICPSR)
Maintains and provides access to a vast
archive of social science data, including several Special Topic Archives.
LexisNexis
Statistical (MIT only)
Indexing and abstracts for over 100,000 U.S. government
and non-government statistical publications.
MIT Geodata Repository
Holds boundary and geo-statistical data from all over the world.
SourceOECD (MIT
only)
Under OECD Databases
see OECD Statistical Compendium. Contains 200,000+ monthly,
quarterly, and annual time series (from 1960) for OECD member countries,
covering a range of social and economic phenomena.
UN Common Database (MIT only)
Comprehensive
global statistical database, covering all United Nations countries and
areas.
Web Sites
American Fact Finder (U.S. Census
Bureau)
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Provides
fact sheets, statistics, and data sets.
DataFerrett
Extraction software
for accessing information from TheDataWeb, a network of online data libraries
from multiple U.S. federal agencies and individual researchers.
Data on the Net (University of
California, San Diego)
Listing of over 300 Internet sites of numeric social
science statistical data, data catalogs, and data archives.
FedStats
Gateway to statistics from
over 100 U.S. Federal Agencies. Provides links to statistical resources
by topic, geography, and agency.
Government
Statistics (Government Documents Round Table, American Library
Association)
Indexes U.S. Federal government statistical web sites.
Internet Crossroads
in Social Science Data (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
Over 700 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
Statistical Resources
on the Web (University of Michigan Documents Center)
Indexes
statistical web sites on over 400 subject areas.
Statistical Sites on the World
Wide Web (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Provides links to the principal U.S. Federal and International
Statistical Agencies
Reference Books
Historical Statistics
of the States of the United States
Provides state (and some city) data from 1790-1990.
Dewey Library - Reference
Collection | HA214.D631993
Instat: International Statistics Sources: Subject Guide to Sources of International
Comparative Statistics
Guide to resources on comparative statistics from governmental and non-governmental
sources.
Dewey Library - Reference
Collection | HA155.I42
1995 v.1 & 2.
International Historical Statistics: Africa,
Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000
Provides data on areas such as population, labor, industries, trade,
and finance.
Dewey Library - Reference Collection
| HA4675.M552 2003
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000
Provides data on areas such as population, labor, industries, trade, and
finance.
Dewey Library - Reference Collection | HA1107.M5 2003
International
Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000
Provides data on areas such as population, labor, industries, trade,
and finance.
Dewey Library - Reference Collection | HA175.M55 2003
Statistical Abstract of
the United States
Collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United
States. Containing detailed source citations, also points to other data
from a variety of Federal agencies and private organizations.
Dewey
Library - Stacks | HA202.A2 1878- (latest on Reference)
This page was last updated on 10/03/07 |