MIT Libraries

Data Management and Publishing

 

Sharing Your Data

You can share your data easily by emailing it to requestors, or posting it to a website, Google, Amazon or Microsoft. However, this method of sharing makes it difficult for people to find your data. Depositing your data in an archive will facilitate its discovery and preservation.

Publish Your Data in a Repository

Any Discipline | Science and Engineering | Social Sciences

Note: Not all of the repositories listed can ensure long-term preservation of your data; contact each one for more details. This list contains suggestions and is not necessarily complete. For a more complete list of data repositories, see the Purdue University Distributed Data Curation Center's page on Other Data Repositories.

Data Created at MIT (Any Discipline)

DSpace - The repository created to capture, distribute, and preserve digital products of MIT faculty and researchers. Authors can archive their digital works in a variety of formats, including datasets. For more information on how to deposit data into DSpace, contact the DSpace Product Manager.

Harvard-MIT Data Center (HMDC) - MIT faculty can create personalized data collections. Faculty-produced data can be distributed to users in various formats and subsets, and also can be explored using online data analysis.

Science and Engineering

  • Biology
    Protein Data Bank - An Information portal to biological macromolecular structures

    UniProt - Submit a new protein sequence to UniProtKB using SPIN, a web-based tool for submitting directly sequenced protein sequences to the Universal Protein Resource (for new nucleotide submissions, use EMBL's WEBIN instead).
  • Chemistry
    PubChem - provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
  • Earth Science
    GEON - Portal for sharing, publishing, and integrating data.

Social Sciences

  • Harvard-MIT Data Center (HMDC) - MIT faculty can create personalized data collections. Faculty-produced data can be distributed to users in various formats and subsets, and also can be explored using online data analysis.

This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:27 EDT

For advice on a data management project, contact:

data-management
@mit.edu

Anne Graham
Civil and Environmental Engineering Librarian

Katherine McNeill
Data Services and Economics Librarian

Amy Stout
Computer Science Librarian

Lisa Sweeney
Head of GIS Services



MIT

For help on a data management project, contact: data-management@mit.edu