Ask Us!

Spectra Resources:


Erja Kajosalo
Chemistry Librarian
kajosalo@mit.edu



MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Subject Guide

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Spectra Resources: Print Spectra

Listed below are selected print volumes of spectra data.  Check Barton for more, especially if you need very specialized categories of compounds.

Search: Handbooks, Infrared Spectroscopy (IR / FT-IR), Mass Spectrometry (MS), Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy, Raman Spectroscopy, Ultraviolet/Visible Spectroscopy

Handbooks
Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC462.85.W675 2001

NIR, IR, Raman, and US-VIS spectra of some 2,100 polymers and surfactants.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Science Library - Reference Collection QD95.E55 2000
Techniques covered include IR, Raman, NMR (1H, 13C, solid-state, two-dimensional), MRI, MS, and atomic spectroscopy.
Proton and carbon NMR spectra of polymers (2003)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.P5.P76 2003
This 5th edition reference volume contains more than 530 1H and 13C NMR spectra of soluble and swollen gelled 13C polymers.
Handbook of Fourier Transform Raman and Infrared Spectra of Polymers (1998)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.P5.K86 1998
Science Library - Stacks DSKETTE QC463.P5.K86 1998
Information provided with each spectrum include common chemical name, monomer formulas, CAS number and sample source and form. This source also provides details about instrumental measurement conditions. There is a compound name index, a synonym index, a general formula index and a CAS number index.
The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra (1993)
Science Library - Reference Collection QD96.F68.P68 1993
This 3 volume compilation of about 12,000 compounds from the Aldrich chemical company catalog is classified by major functional group categories. The third volume also provides indexes by chemical name and molecular formula. The Aldrich catalog can also be used to locate references to the spectra.
The Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra (1985)
Science Library - Reference Collection QD96.I5.P66 1985
A 2 volume compiliation of about 11,000 compounds. Also see notes for the Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR spectra (1993).
Eight Peak Index of Mass Spectra (1991)
Science Library - Stacks QC454.M3.M36 1991
More than 81,000 mass spectra distributed in 3 volumes. This resource is published by the Mass Spectometry Data Centre of Royal Society of Chemistry. Volume 1 categorizes the spectra by molecular weight and then by the number of C, H, ... atoms. In volume 2 the arrangement is by molecular weight and m/e ratio, and in volume 3 the arrangement is in ascending order of m/e ratio.
Handbook of Mass Spectra of Environmental Contaminants (1992)
Science Library - Reference Collection TD193.H57 1992
A collection of more than 500 mass spectra, with indexes for common name, CAS registry numbers, molecular weight, and mass spectral peaks.
UV-VIS Atlas of Organic Compounds (1992)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC462.85.P47 1992

Some 1,100 critically selected and evaluated UV-VIS spectra of organic and inorganic compounds.

The Sigma library of FT-IR spectra (1986)
Science Library - Reference Collection QD96.I5.K45 1986
A 2 volume collection of over 10,000 spectra produced by the Sigma Chemical Company. This collection has a biochemical emphasis. The information is indexed by name and molecular formula. Compounds are also classified by major biochemical categories (amino acids, etc.).
Handbook of ultraviolet and visible absorption spectra of organic compounds (1967)
Science Library - Stacks QD291.H668

UV-VIS absorptions of organic compounds compiled to contain tabulation according to absorption maxima.

Infrared Spectroscopy (IR / FT-IR)
Atlas of IR Spectra of Organophosphorus Compounds : Interpreted Spectrograms (1990)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.O72.A8513 1990
A collection of 600 spectra, with a molecular formula and chemical compound category index.
Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC462.85.W675 2001

NIR, IR, Raman, and US-VIS spectra of some 2,100 polymers and surfactants.

The Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts (1997)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC457.N997 1997
IR and Raman spectra of about 450 inorganic compounds and minerals, and about 80 spectra of organic salts.
Mass Spectrometry (MS)

The Encyclopedia of Mass Spectrometry
Science Library - Reference Collection QD96.M3.E534 2003

Review of the current methods used in mass spectrometry.

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR)
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (NMR) Spectra Of Polymers and Polymer Additives (2000)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.P5.B73 2000
400 NMR spectra of some 300 polymers and polymer additives.
Proton and Carbon NMR Spectra of Polymers (2003)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.P5.P76 2003

Over 450 NMR speactra of polymers.  See also QC463.P5.P43 (3-volume set).

Raman Spectroscopy
Raman Spectroscopy Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC462.85.W675 2001

NIR, IR, Raman, and US-VIS spectra of some 2,100 polymers and surfactants.

TRC Spectral Data. Raman (1993)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.H9.A65

Collection of Raman spectra of hydrocarbons in 5 of loose-leaf binders.

Ultraviolet-Visible (UV-VIS) Spectroscopy (Absorption Spectroscopy)
Absorption Spectra in the Ultraviolet and Visible Region (1961 -1982)
Science Library - Stacks QC437.A19 v.1 (1961) - v.24 (1982)

24 volumes of UV-VIS spectra with 3 index volumes.

Atlas of Protein Spectra in the Ultraviolet and Visible Regions (1972 - 1974, 1984)
Science Library - Stacks QC463.P7 K61

In addition of an alphabetical listing, spectra is also referred by species, tissues, and organs from which they were taken.

Atlas of Steroid Spectra (1965)
Science Library - Oversized Materials QC463.S8.N479

IR, NMR, and UV spectra of 900 selected steroids

Atlas of Spectral Data and Physical Constants for Organic Compounds (1975)
Science Library - Stacks QD257.7.G7 1975

6 volume set of spectra of organic compounds.

Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-VIS Spectra Featuring Polymers and Surfactants (2001)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC462.85.W675 2001

NIR, IR, Raman, and US-VIS spectra of some 2,100 polymers and surfactants.

TRC Spectral Data. Ultraviolet (1985-)
Science Library - Reference Collection QC463.H9.A67

Collection of UV spectra of hydrocarbons in 5 of loose-leaf binders.

Handbook of monochromatic XPS spectra
Science Library – Reference Collection QC482.S6.C75 2000

3-volume set contains wide-scan and narrow-scan XPS spectra of pure polymers and pure co-polymers.

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 07/31/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT