Databases & E-Journals

Refererence Materials

Internet Resources

CEE Research in and around MIT

Societies



Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering


Anne Graham
Librarian for Civil & Environmental Engineering
grahama@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Reference Materials

Handbooks | Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Standards


Handbooks

Handbooks provide explanations and examples of fundamental concepts in a subject field. Use these to find formulas, definitions, basic explanations of concepts, historical foundations of the field, and leads to additional sources of information with deeper coverage.

General Handbooks      Back to top

The Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. - edited by R.C. Dorf (Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2005)
      Barker Reference Collection TA151.E424 2005

The Civil Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. - edited by W.F. Chen & J.Y. Richard Liew (Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2003)
      Barker Reference Collection TA151.C57 2003

Civil Engineering Practice - edited by P.N. Cheremisinoff, N.P. Cheremisinoff, S.L. Cheng (5 volumes, Lancaster: Technomic, 1987)
      Barker Reference Collection TA9.C58 1987

Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations - edited by Tyler G. Hicks (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000)
      Barker Reference Collection TA332.H36 2000
Also in Knovel @ http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=724 

Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations - edited by C.C. Lee and Shun Dar Lin (New York: McGraw Hill 2000)
      Barker Reference Collection TD145.H27 2000
Also in Knovel @ http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=621 

Selected Topical Handbooks      Back to top

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice (Detroit, Mich. : American Concrete Institute)
      Barker Reference Collection TA439.A5123 (7 volumes)

Asphalt Materials and Mix Design Manual -
      Barker Stacks TE275.K48 1998
Also in Knovel @ http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1086

Comprehensive Rock Engineering - edited by John A. Hudson (Oxford: Pergamon Press, 1993)
      Barker Reference Collection TA706.C642 1993 (5 volumes)

Concrete Construction Handbook, 4th ed. - J.A. Dobrowolski (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998)
      Barker Reference Collection TA681.W121 1998

Elements and their Compounds in the Environment, 2nd ed. - edited by E. Merianan, M. Anke, M. Ihnat and M. Stoeppler (Weinheim: Wiley-VCH Verlag, 2004)
      Barker Reference Collection TD196.M4.M4613 2004 (3 volumes)

Handbook of Nondestructive Testing of Concrete, 2nd ed. - edited by V.M. Malhotra and N.J. Carino (Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2004)  
      Barker Reference Collection TA440.C72 2004

The Handbook of Groundwater Engineering - edited by J.W. Delleur (Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1999)
      Barker Reference Collection TC176.H35 1999

Handbook of Structural Engineering, 2nd ed. - edited by W.F. Chen and Eric M. Lui (Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2005)
      Barker Reference Collection TA633.H36 2005

Highway Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. - edited by Roger L. Brockenbrough (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003)
      Barker Reference Collection TE151.H54 2003

The McGraw-Hill Recycling Handbook, 2nd ed. - H.F. Lund (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001)
      Barker Reference Collection TD794.5.L84 2001

Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering, 2nd ed. - R.A. Corbitt (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1999)
      TD145.S72 1998

Standard Handbook of Hazardous Waste Treatment and Disposal, 2nd ed. - H.M. Freeman (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998)
      Barker Reference Collection TD1032.S73 1998

Back to top


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Back to top

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
      http://www.harcourt.com/dictionary/browse/55/

Concise Encyclopedia of Traffic and Transportation Systems - M. Papageorgiou (Oxford: Pergamon, 1991)
      Barker Reference Collection TA1145.C58 1991

Construction Glossary: An Encyclopedic Reference and Manual, 2nd ed. - J.S. Stein (New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1993)
      Barker Reference Collection TH9.S78 1993

A Dictionary of Soils - G. Plaisance, A. Cailleux (Paris: La Maison Rastique Publishers, 1981)
      Barker Reference Collection S592.P52

Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation - R.A. Meyers (New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1998)
      Barker Reference Collection GE10.E49 1998

Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia
      http://www1.nature.nps.gov/toxic/index.html

Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed. - edited by Marci Bortman, Peter Brimblecombe, MaryAnn Cunningham, William P.Cunningham, and William Freedman (Detroit: Gale Research, 2003)
      Barker Reference Collection GE10.E57 2003 (2 volumes)

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
      http://libraries.mit.edu/get/accesssci

The VNR Dictionary of Civil Engineering, 4th ed. - J.S. Scott (New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1993)
      Barker Reference Collection TA9.S35 1993

The Water Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. - F. van der Leeden, F.L. Troise, D.K. Todd (Michigan: Lewis Publishers, 1990)
     Barker Reference Collection TD351.V36 1990

Back to top


Standards at Barker

http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/types/standards/

 

Back to top

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 10/01/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT