Ask Us!

Business Database Advisor


A-Z List of Business Databases at MIT (PDF)

Citing Sources

Database Searcher's Cheatsheet (PDF)

Site Index


Dewey Library for Management and Social Sciences




Maggie Bartley
mbart@mit.edu



MIT libraries MIT Libraries

Business Database Advisor

Citing Sources

Why cite?

Once you've found information and created a report or presentation, you will need to cite the sources you used.

When you use another’s words or ideas, you must acknowledge that person’s work by showing within the body of your text that you took sentences/ideas/figures from another place.

This includes text or ideas taken from an article, report, book, electronic database, or website.

How are citations done?

Style manuals give guidelines for formating citations. Check with your instructor about which citation style to use.

Commonly used citation style manuals:

  • The Chicago manual of style
    Dewey Library Reference | Z253.C532
  • Columbia guide to online style
    Dewey Library Reference | PN171.F56.W35
  • Electronic styles : a handbook for citing electronic information
    Dewey Library Reference | PN171.F56.L5
  • MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing
    Hayden Library Humanities Ready Reference Collection | PN147.A28 1998
    Online FAQ
  • Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
    Dewey Library Reference | BF76.6.A46
    Online excerpts







 

Examples of citations using the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Journal article from a full text database:

Ancona, Deborah, Bresman,
Henrik, and Kaeufer, Katrin. (2003). The comparative advantage of x-teams. MIT Sloan Management Review, 43, 33-39. Retrieved August 1, 2003, from Business Source Elite database.

Newpaper article, electronic version:

Cookson, Clive. (2005 February 18). 'Global warming real' say new studies. Financial Times. Retrieved February 18, 2005, from http://news.ft.com

Industry analyst's report, print version:

DiLorenzo, Frank. (2004 June 10). Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys: Biotechnology. New York: Standard and Poor's.


 

 

 


This page was last updated on 09/28/07

MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT