Ask Us!

Art Databases & E-Journals

Researching Art & Artists

Art on the Web

Picture Sources

Resources for Practicing Artists


Rotch Library

Rotch Visual Collections

Ann Whiteside
Rotch Head Librarian
awhites@mit.edu





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Art

Resources for Practicing Artists

Grants | Marketing Artwork | Arts Hazards | Art Schools | Artists & Art Movements

Grants Information

Grants in the Arts - a site from Bobst Library at New York University

Money to Work II: Funding For Visual Artists. Helen M. Brunner, Donald H. Russell, eds. with Grant E. Samuelsen. Washington, DC: Art Resources International, c.1992. (N347.M6 1992)

National Directory of Grants and Aid to Individuals in the Arts, International. 8th ed. Des Moines, Iowa: Allied Business Consultants, 1993. (NX398.N37)

top of page

Marketing Artwork

Art Marketing Sourcebook for the Fine Artist. Constance Franklin-Smith, ed. Renaissance, CA: ArtNetwork Press, 1992. (REF N58.A78)

Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market: 2500 Places to Sell Your Art & Design Cincinnati, Ohio: Writer's Digest Books, 1998. (REF N8600.A76)

Artist's Friendly Legal Guide. Rev. and updated. Cincinnati, Ohio: North Light Books, c.1991. (REF KF390.A7.A785 1991)

Caplin, Lee. The Business of Art. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, c.1998. (REF N8600.B875 1998)

Vitali, Julius. The Fine Artist's Guide to Marketing and Self-Promotion. New York: Allwoth Press, 1996. (N8600.V57 1996)

top of page

Arts Hazards Information

McCann, Michael. Health Hazards Manual for Artists. 4th rev. ed. New York: Lyons & Burford, c.1994. (REF RC963.6.A78.M324 1994)

Spandorfer, Merle, Deborah Curtiss, and Jack Snyder. Making Art Safely: Alternatives in Drawing, Painting, Printmaking, Graphic Design, and Photography. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c.1993. (REF RC963.6.A78.S62 1993)

Art Schools

American Art Directory, 1999-2000. New York: Jaques Cattell Press, R.R. Bowker. Annual. (N50.A54)

Art in America Annual Guide: Museums, Galleries, Artists. New York: Brant Art Publications Inc. Special annual (August) issue of Art in America - see their Directory of Art Schools section. (REF N510.A78)

College Art Association. Directory of M.A. & Ph.D. Programs in Art and Art History. New York: The Association, 1999. (N385.C64)

College Art Association. Directory of MFA Programs in the Visual Arts. New York: The Association, 1996. (REF N328.C64)

Handbook/ National Association of Schools of Art and Design. Reston, VA: The Association. Annual (NX400.N37)

Peterson's GradSearch or

Peterson's Graduate Programs in the Humanities, Arts, & Social Sciences Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides, 1998. (REF LB2371.A615)

top of page

Artists & Art Movements

  • in addition to the folllowing reference works, search Barton, MIT's online catalog, for books on well-known subjects and artists
  • check out the guide to Researching Art & Artists
  • ask a reference librarian for guidance to other resources not on this list.

Art Abstracts - index to articles from major U.S. and European art periodicals.

Artbibliographies Modern Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1969-present. Semi-annual. Print version, 1969-1993.

Atkins, Robert. ArtSpeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997. (N6490.A87 1997)

Atkins, Robert. ArtSpoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville Press, 1993. (REF N6447.A85 1993)

Bibliography of the History of Art. Santa Monica, CA: J. Paul Getty Trust. Includes RILA and RAA indexes in online version. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles. (print version available: REF N1.B5)

Contemporary Artists. 5th edition. Chicago: St. James, 2002. (REF N6490.C6567 2002)

Modern Arts Criticism. vol. 1-4. Detroit: Gale Research, 1994. (REF N40.M63)

Oxford Dictionary of Art. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1997. (REF N33.O93 1997)

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Art. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1981. (REF N6490.O94)

Robertson, Jack. Twentieth Century Artists On Art: An Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers. 2nd enl. ed. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1996. (REF NX456.R59 1996)

Who's Who in American Art. 21st ed. New York: Bowker, 1995/96. (REF N6536.W628)

top of page

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 10/03/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT