Art on the Web

Picture Sources

Resources for Practicing Artists


Rotch Library

Rotch Visual Collections

Ann Whiteside
Rotch Head Librarian
awhites@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides    

Art
Picture Sources

Tip: search Barton under subject: decoration and ornament. This topic is further subdivided by genre, country of origin, and time period.

Painting, Architecture & Picture Indexes

Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index VII, 1987-1991. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1993. (REF N7525.A67 1993)

Appel, Marsha C. Illustration Index VIII, 1992-1996. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press, 1998. (REF N7525.A67 1998)

Clapp, Jane. Art in Life. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1959. (N7525.C589)

Clapp, Jane. Art in Life Supplement, - 1965. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1965. (N7525.C589)

Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970. 3 vols. (REF NB36.C589)

Greer, Roger C. Illustration Index. NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973. (N7525.G816 1973)

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977. 2 vols. (REF ND45.H38)

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Second Supplement, 1980-1989. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995. 2 vols. (REF ND45.H38 Suppl.2)

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Third Supplement, 1990-1999. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 2003. 2 vols. (REF ND45.H38 Suppl.3)

Index to Art Reproductions in Books. Compiled by the Professional Staff of the Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library under the Direction of Elizabeth W. Thomson. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1974. (REF N7525.H48 1974)

Index to Italian Architecture: A Guide to Key Monuments and Reproduction Sources. compiled by Edward H. Teague. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992. (REF NA111.T4 1992)

Korwin, Yala H. Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981. 2 vols. (REF N7525.K67)

Monro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Monro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: A Guide to Pictures Occurring in More Than Eight Hundred Books. New York: Wilson, 1948. (ND205.M752)

Monro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Monro. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings, First Supplement. New York: Wilson, 1964 (REF ND205.M752 Suppl. 1)

Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions. Compiled by Pamela Jeffcott Parry and Kathe Chipman. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. (REF NE90.P17 1983)

Smith, Lyn Wall and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index to Reproductions of American Paintings Appearing in More Than 400 Books, Mostly Published Since 1960. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977. (REF ND205.S575)

Vance, Lucile E. and Esther M. Tracey. Illustration Index. NY: Scarecrow Press, 1966. (N7525.V222 1966)

World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations. Compiled by Edward H. Teague. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1991. (REF NA202.T4 1991)

top of page

Clip Art & Picture Compilations

2001 Decorative Cuts and Ornaments. ed. by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1988. (Z250.3.A16 1988)

3,800 Early Advertising Cuts, Deberry Type Foundry. NY: Dover, 1991. (Z250.F668 1991)

5000 Vignettes Francaises Fin de Siecle. Paris: J.J. Pauvert, 1966. (Z250.C575)

Advertising Spot Illustrations of the Twenties and Thirties: 1,593 Cuts. NY: Dover, 1989. (HF5813.U6.A67 1989)

Akar, Azade. Treasury of Turkish Designs: 670 Motifs From Iznik Pottery. NY: Dover, 1988. (NK4340.I9.A35 1988)

Bizarre and Ornamental Alphabets. NY: Dover, 1981. (NK3630.B55 1981)

Bosomworth, Dorothy. Encyclopedia of Patterns and Motifs: A Collection of 5000 Designs From Cultures Around the World. London: Studio Editions, 1995. (NK1175.B67 1995)

Burden, Ernest. Entourage: a Tracing File for Architecture and Interior Design Drawing. 4th ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2003. (NA2780.B873 2003)

Children: a Pictorial Archive From Nineteenth-Century Sources; 240 Copyright-Free Illustrations for Artists and Designers. Selected by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1978. (NE962.C47.C47 1978)

Complete Encyclopedia of Illustration. NY: Park Lane, 1979. (REF NC960.C7 1979)

Connor (Firm) New York. Specimens of Electrotype Cuts, & Corners, & Ornaments & Tints. Hastings-on-Hudson: Morgan & Morgan, 1972. (Z250.C752 1972)

top of page

Dover Clip Art Series

Ready to Use Accents & Attention Getters (NK1530.G73 1984)

Ready to Use Art Deco Borders (NK1396.A76.M46 1985)

Ready to Use Art Nouveau Borders (NK1380.M46 1983)

Ready to Use Borders on Layout Grids (NK1530.G733 1985)

Ready to Use Banners (NK1570.M56 1979)

Ready to Use Old-Fashioned Mortised Cuts (Z250.3.R43 1987x)

Ready to Use House & Real Estate Illustrations (NC960.F73 1988)

Dover Picture Archive Series

Pugin's Gothic Ornament (NK1295.P84 1987)

Early American Design Motifs (NK1403.5.C45 1974)

Evans, Larry. The New Complete Illustration Guide: The Ultimate Trace File for Architects, Designers, Artists, and Students. Updated ed. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996. (NA2780.E9 1996)

Goods and Merchandise: a Cornucopia of Nineteenth-Century Cuts. compiled and arragned by William Rowe. NY: Dover, 1982. (NE1092.G66 1982)

Griesbach, C.B. Historic Ornament: a Pictorial Archive: 900 Fine Examples From Ancient Egypt to 1800, Suitable For Reproduction. NY: Dover, 1975. (NK1530.G7413 1975)

Harter, Jim. Animals: 1419 Copyright-Free Illustrations of Mammals, Birds, Fish,Insects, etc.: A Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth Century Sources. NY: Dover, 1979. (NE962.A5.H37 1979)

Harter, Jim. Hands: a Pictorial Archive from Nineteenth-Century Sources: 1166 Copyright Free Illustrations for Artists and Designers. (NE962.H35.H37 1985)

Harter, Jim. Music: a Pictorial Archive of Woodcuts and Engravings. (ML89.H27)

Harter, Jim. Food and Drink: a Pictorial Archive From Nineteenth Century Sources. (GT2855.H37 1983)

Harter, Jim. Women: A Pictorial Archive From Nineteenth-Century Sources; 488 Copyright-Free Illustrations for Artists and Designers. 2nd rev. ed. New York: Dover Publications, 1982. (N7632.W66 1982)

Illustrator's Resource File. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984. (N4035.V36.I44 1984)

Love and Romance in Pictorial Archives From Nineteenth-Century Sources. NY: Dover, 1989. (NC90.L68 1989)

Men, A Pictorial Archive From Nineteenth-Century Sources: 412 Copyright-free Illustrations for Artists and Designers. selected by Jim Harter. NY: Dover, 1980. (NE962.M44.M46 1980)

The Natural Science Picture Sourcebook. ed. by Janet Evans. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984. (N7660.N33 1984)

Pictorial Archive of Decorative and Illustrative Mortised Cuts. ed. by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1983. (Z250.3.P48 1983)

Picture Reference File. ed. by Harold H. Hart. NY: Hart Publishing Co., 1976. (REF N7560.P5)

Smithsonian Institution Image Gallery Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution.

Sturgis, Russell. Architecture Sourcebook. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984. (REF NA2840.S78 1984)

Trades and Occupations: A Pictorial Archive From Early Sources. selected and arranged by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1990. (NE962.O25.T73 1990)

Treasury of Animal Illustrations From Eighteenth-Century Sources. ed. by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1988. (NK1449.A1.T7 1988)

Treasury of Book Ornament and Decoration: 537 Borders, Frames and Spot Illustrations from Early Twentieth-Century Italian Sources. ed. by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1986. (Z250.3.T72 1986)

Verneuil, M.P. Floral Patterns: 120 Full-Color Designs in the Art Nouveau Style. NY: Dover, 1981. (NK1565.V4713)

Victorian Display Alphabets. NY: Dover, 1976. (Z250.V53)

Victorian Pictorial Borders. ed. by Carol B. Grafton. NY: Dover, 1984. (NK3630.4.B67.V52 1984)

top of page




This page was last updated on 10/02/07
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT