Design & Construction

Architecture on the Web

Built in Boston

Architects & Buildings


MIT School of Architecture & Planning

Rotch Library

Ann Whiteside
Rotch Head Librarian
awhites@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Architecture

Design & Construction: Timesavers & Graphic Standards

Construction Terminology | Accessibility | Building Codes | Construction Sites on the Web | Cost Estimation | Timesavers & Graphic Standards

Architects' Data: The Handbook of Building Types, Ernst Neufert. Oxford: BSP Professional Books, 1980. (REF TH151.N4821 2000). Referred to as Neufert's; the European, metric equivalent of Architectural Graphic Standards.
Architects' Handbook of Construction Detailing, David Kent Ballast. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, 1990. Graphic solutions to common construction detailing problems. (REF TH2031.B35 1990)
Architects' Handbook of Formulas, Tables, and Mathematical Calculations, David Kent Ballast. Englewood Cliffs: Prentice Hall, 1988. (REF NA2750.B32 1988). If it can be tabulated, it's here. Includes climatic data on many U.S. cities.
The Architect's Studio Companion: Technical Guidelines for Preliminary Design, Edward Allen and Joseph Iano. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 2002. (REF NA2750.A556 2002). A compendium of the most often needed technical guidelines, ideal for student use.
Architectural Graphic Standards, Ramsey/Sleeper. New York: John Wiley & Sons. (REF + CIRC DESK TH2031.R35). The most complete guide to industry standards, materials specifications, and conversion tables. See also:
  • Student Edition, a condensed version of the 9th Edition (REF TH2031.R35 2000c)
  • and Residential and Light Construction, an extract from the 8th Edition. (REF TH2031.A8425 1991)
Architectural Woodwork Quality Standards, Architectural Woodwork Institute. s.l.: The Institute, 1993. (REF TH1151.A73 1993). A guide to all aspects of joinery and fabrication techniques.
AJ Handbook of Building Structure, Allan Hodgkinson. London: Architectural Press, 1980. (REF TA635.H63 1980)
Handbook of Architectural Details for Commercial Buildings, Joseph De Ciara. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1980. (REF NA6212.H36 1980). Plans, elevations, and sections of commercial building types, followed by representative details.
Handbook of Landscape Architectural Construction, Maurice Nelischer. Washington, D.C.: Landscape Architecture Foundation, 1985. (REF TH153.H365 1985). Landscape and site design.
Handbook of Specialty Elements in Architecture, Andrew Alpern. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1982. (REF NA2540.H32). Special elements range from trees to signage, by building type.
House Builder's Reference Book, M.J.V. Powell. London: Newnes-Butterworths, 1979. (REF TH4811.H65)
 
Human Dimension and Interior Space, Julius Panero and Martin Zelnik. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1979. (REF NA2542.4.P356 1979). Covers a wide range of human activity.
Interior Graphic and Design Standards, S.C. Reznicoff. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1986. (REF NA2708.R49 1986)
Time-Saver Details for Exterior Wall Design, Fred Nashed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1996. (REF TH2235.N37 1996). Covers all aspects including environmental factors, structure, materials, fenestration, and cladding.
Time-Saver Details for Roof Design, Steve Hardy. New York: McGrw-Hill, 1998. (REF TH2431.H37 1998)
Time-Saver Details for Store Planning and Design, Charles E. Broudy and Vilma Barr. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. (NA6220.B7 1995)
Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design Data, John Hancock Callender. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997. (REF TH151.A673 1997). Works with all components of a building, below the level of building type.
Time-Saver Standards for Building Types, Joseph DeChiara and John Callender. New York: McGraw-Hill. (REF NA2760.D42 2001). The most heavily used guide to programming needs and specifications of building types.

Time-Saver Standards for Housing and Residential Development, Joseph De Chiara. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. (REF NA9051.T55 1995) . For planning of residential neighborhoods.

Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, Joseph DeChiara et al. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001. (REF NK2110.D35 2001)

Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture, Charles W. Harris and Nicholas T. Dines. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998. (REF SB475.9.S72.T55 1998)
Time-Saver Standards for Site Planning, Joseph DeChiara. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984. (REF NA2540.5.D4 1984)

Urban Planning and Design Criteria, Joseph DeChiara and Lee Koppelman. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1982. (REF NA9031.D293 1982)

top of page ""

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:22 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT