Databases & E-Journals
Design & Construction
Architecture on the Web Built in Boston
Architects & Buildings
Rotch Library
Ann Whiteside Rotch Head Librarian awhites@mit.edu
Construction Terminology | Accessibility | Building Codes | Construction Sites on the Web | Cost Estimation | Timesavers & Graphic Standards
Model codes are published every three years, with supplements published in the interim. Rotch Library attempts to stay current with all model codes as well as the Massachusetts codes. Rotch holdings, including retrospective editions, are more comprehensive than any other Boston Library Consortium member. Many older editions of codes have been transferred to storage and must be requested.
Massachusetts codes may be purchased at the State house. All codes may be purchased directly from the issuing agency.
Note: the International Code Council is now producing numerous codes previously published separately by the three model code agencies. The latest codes of each organization, while they may be superseded by the international codes, may still serve as the model codes in use in many localities. They will remain in the Rotch Library Reference Collection for now.
General Information
Directory of Building Codes and Regulations. Herndon, VA: National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards, 1991. A two-part directory of codes and standards in use, by state and city. (City: REF KF5701.D57 1998; State: REF KF5701.Z95.D58)
National Building Codes Handbook. Hutchings, Jonathan F. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998. (REF KF5701.H87 1998)
State & City Codes
Massachusetts State Building Code, 6th ed., 1997. The most recent code, modeled on the National (BOCA) Building Code. The new state energy code is found in Article 90. The state code is used in both Boston and Cambridge. (All previous editions are in the stacks.) (REF KFM2859.A1.A3 1997)
Comparative Analysis of 780CMR: Massachusetts State Building Code 6th Edition with ... 5th Edition. (REF KFM2859.A1.C66 1997)
Massachusetts. Deleading Regulations, 1990. (REF KFM2435.A213 1978)
Massachusetts Electrical Code, 1992. (REF TK275.M4)
Massachusetts Fuel Gas and Plumbing Codes, 1997. (REF KFM2688.A437.F8 1997)
Massachusetts Sanitary Code, 1994. (REF KFM2754.A435.A16 1994)
Building Code of the City of New York, 1990. (REF KFX2080.A2 1990)
Electrical Code of the City of New York, 1987. (REF KFX2080.5.A2)
New York City. Housing Maintenance Code, 1988. Accompanied by 1991 supplement. (REF KFX2080.A2 1988)
ADA: see Accessibility subject page.
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
ANSI standards are collected by Barker Library. Rotch Library has only the following:
ICC/A117.1 1998. Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities.(NA2545.P5.A38 1992 )
ICC/ANSI 2.0-1998. Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards. (REF KF5702.P74.A64 1999)
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials)
ASTM Standards in Building Codes, 2004. Due to high cost and low use, Rotch does not update this title annually. (REF TA404.5.A45 2004)
BOCA (Building Officials & Code Administrators, International) see: ICC
The National Building Code, originally published by the American Insurance Association, ceased publication with the 1980 edition, in anticipation of a merger with the BOCA Basic codes. The result is the BOCA National codes, which are in turn being replaced by the International Code Council Codes.
BOCA National Building Code, 1999. (REF KF5701.A73.B8)
BOCA National Energy Conservation Code, 1993. (REF KF5701.B78)
BOCA National Fire Prevention Code, 1999. (REF KF3975.Z9.B932)
BOCA National Private Sewage Disposal Code, 1993. (REF KF5709.B82)
CABO (Council of American Building Officials) Note: CABO merged with the ICC in 1997.
CABO Model Energy Code, 1995. (REF KF5701.M62)
CABO One and Two Family Dwelling Code and Amendments, 1995. (REF KF5701.C2)
ICC (International Code Council) (ICC codes replace like titles formerly issued by BOCA, ICBO, and SBCC.)
International Building Code, 2000 (K3538.A15.I5)
International Energy Conservation Code, 2000 (REF K3542.I5835)
International Fire Code, 2006 (REF K4180.F57.I58)
International Fuel Gas Code, 2006 (REF K3542.I573)
International One and Two Family Dwelling Code, 1998 (K3538.I584).
International Mechanical Code, 2006 (KF5701.A73.I58).
International Plumbing Code, 2003. (REF K3542.I58)
International Private Sewage Disposal Code, 2003. (REF K3542.I584)
International Property Maintenance Code, 2006. (REF K3538.I5847)
International Residential Code For One- and Two-Family Dwellings , 2003. (REF K3538.A15.I587)
International Zoning Code, 2006. (REF K3534.I58)
ICBO (International Conference of Building Officials) see: ICC
Dwelling Construction Under the Uniform Building Code, 1997. (KF5701.I5)
Dwelling Construction Under the Uniform Mechanical Code, 1994. (REF KF5701.I5a)
Handbook to the Uniform Building Code, 1995. (REF KF5701.B85 1995)
Uniform Administrative Code, 1997. (REF KF5701.Z9.I55)
Uniform Building Code, 3 volumes, 1997. (REF KF5701.I61)
Uniform Building Security Code, 1997. (KF5701.Z9.I56)
Uniform Code for Building Conservation, 1997. (KF5701.Z9.I565)
Uniform Code for the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings, 1997. (KF5701.Z9.I57)
Uniform Fire Code, 2 volumes, 1997. (KF3975.I58)
Uniform Housing Code, 1997. (KF5730.I58a)
Uniform Sign Code, 1997. (KF5710.Z9.I58)
Uniform Solar Energy Code, 1994. (KF5708.I54 1994)
Uniform Swimming Pool, Spa and Hot Tub Code, 1994. (KF5710.U55)
Uniform Zoning Code, 1997. (KF5698.Z95.U55)
Automatic Sprinkler Systems Handbook, 4th ed., 1994. (REF TH9336.A88)
Fire Protection Handbook, 1997. (REF TH9150.N27)
Life Safety Code, 2000. Chapter 101 of the National Fire Codes. Seventeen states base a portion of their code on this Chapter. (REF TH9445.P8.L53a)
National Electrical Code Handbook, 1999. Includes the full text of the National Electrical Code. (REF TK260.N271)
National Fire Alarm Code Handbook, 1999. (REF TH9271.N24)
Standard for Health Care Facilities, 1993. TH9445.H7.N25 1993)
Standard Building Code, 1999. (REF KF5701.A16.S68)
Standard Amusement Device Code, 1985. (REF KF5710.A16.S68)
Standard Gas Code, 1997. (KF5704.5.A16.S68 1997)
Standard Housing Code, 1997. (REF KF5722.3.S68)
Standard Swimming Pool Code, 1994. (REF KF5710.A16.S685)
Standard Unsafe Building Abatement Code, 1985. (REF KF5701.A16.S685)
top of page
This page was last updated on 09/26/07