Databases & E-Journals

Design & Construction

Architecture on the Web

Built in Boston

Architects & Buildings


MIT School of Architecture & Planning

Rotch Library


Ann Whiteside
Rotch Head Librarian
awhites@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Architecture

Architects & Buildings: Biographical Sources

Directories | Biographical Sources | Domus Map Guides | MIT Buildings | MIT Architects Lecture Series | Santos Bibliography | Solar Houses | TAC Archives | ULI Project Reference File Index


Contemporary Architects. (REF NA40.C6 1994)

Well-known architects only. A good starting point for further research. Includes chronology of works and their locations, publications by and about, personal statements, and a biographical sketch.

Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering and Construction. (REF NA31.E59 1988, 5v.)

Short entries for 20th century architects, more useful for building type technical information.

International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture. (REF NA40.I48 1993)

This two volume compilation covers 523 architects in Volume I and 467 buildings in Volume II. Format is the same as Contemporary Architects. Volume II serves as companion material to the entries in Volume I. Eurocentric editorial policy excludes all non-Western architecture.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. (REF NA40.M25 1982, 4v.)

Entries for architects of all periods including those less well-known but excluding those born since 1930. Articles vary in scope but all include a short list of works and a brief bibliography.

Avery Obituary Index of Architects, 2nd edition, 1980. Shelved with the Avery Index. (REF ZN40.C726 1980)

Obituaries are an especially good source of information about the lives and careers of those less published architects. Obituaries indexed here are from the architectural press as well as the New York Times. U.S. from 1876; U.K. from 1843.

Biographical Dictionary of American Architects, Deceased, Henry and Elsie Withey. (REF NA736.W824 1996)

First published in 1956, "Withey's" is an invaluable source of information although occasionally and somewhat notoriously inaccurate. Many obscure architects, if deceased by 1952, are included. The bibliographical references are disappointing, often simply referring to the obituaries indexed in the Avery.


Foreign-Language Dictionary Encyclopedias

These may also be helpful, serving a similar function as "Withey's."

Wasmuths Lexikon der Baukunst , 1929. (REF NA31.W319).

Dizionario Enciclopedico di Architettura e Urbanistica, 1968. (REF NA31.D622)

Dictionnaire des Architectes, 1970. (NA40.O93)

top of page

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 09/25/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT