Ask Us!

Anthropology databases

Anthropology
E-journals

The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources.


MIT Anthropology Program


Michelle Baildon
History, Science, Technology & Society, Philosophy and Anthropology Librarian
baildon@MIT.EDU




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides     indians

Anthropology

Selected Web Resources

Academic Info: Anthropology
Mike Madin's Collection Development Policy indicates that this site is for undergraduate or advanced high school students or above. Many links including online indexes of the literature, World email Directory of Anthropologists, Academic departments, Societies and Institutes.

Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations (University of Minnesota)
A Choice Outstanding Academic Title for 1999. The primary groups addressed are the Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec, and Aztec. Topics include:

  • Mesoamerican writing systems
  • Mesoamerican governments
  • Mesoamerican religions
  • The Maya Calendar System
  • Reconstructing Maya and Zapotec political organization
  • How the Sky Works

Anthropological Index Online
The Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Anthropological Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library).

Anthropology in the News
Breaking news page from Texas A&M

ANTHRO-L: Anthropology Discussion List Archives
ANTHRO-L describes itself as "a bulletin board devoted to scholarly and friendly discussion of anything relating to anthropology. ...Should you want to do a little research, the anthro-l archives are stored at the University at Buffalo, NY, USA, and at the University of Sydney where they are accessible to the public."

Californian Academy of Sciences Anthropology Collection Datatbase
The collection of the Department of Anthropology comprises approximately 17,000 objects, most of which are ethnographic. The material consists of items relating to the indigenous cultures of western North America (exclusive of Mexico) and of the Pacific Rim, including all Pacific islands and East Asia. The database includes digital images of collection objects. Currently there are over 8,000 images available.

Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing (University of Kent)
Comprehensive site containing general online anthropology resources, databases and bibliographies.

Online Textbook: Exploring Ancient World Cultures This site includes an anthology, chronology, essays, maps, interactive quizzes, resources, and other WWW sites related to ancient world cultures.

National Archeological Database (US National Park Service)
Dedicated to the practice of archaeological geophysics in North America. Under construction (April 2000) the site contains a projects database with supporting images, an events calendar, links to practitioners & equipment manufacturers and more. NADB-NAGPRA has documents and information about the Native Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA).

Native Web
The purpose of Native Web is "to provide a cyber-place for Earth's indigenous peoples." Currently, documents and links at the site "are predominantly about the Americas from the Arctic to Amazonia." Documents and links are organized according to: Subject Categories, Geographic Regions, Nations/Peoples, Languages, Education, Literature, Newsletters, Journals, Organizations, Bibliographies. Historical materials, Information sites, WWW, Gopher and FTP sites, USENET news groups, and Mailing lists.

Resources in Ethnographic Studies
A Collection of Resources in Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Folklore, and Folklife from the Library of Congress.

Society for American Archaeology Bulletin (Archives)
The Society for American Archaeology is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas.

Society for Latin American Anthropology
SLAA provides a forum for discussion of current research, scholarly trends, human rights concerns as well as an interchange with scholars from Latin America.

UCSB Anthropology
UCSB Anthropology (University of California at Santa Barbara) is a good starting point for exploring anthropology web sites. This site is regularly updated and is very impressive. In addition to UCSB-specific information, there are links to other websites with descriptions. Links are organized alphabetically and by topical focus. You are given the opportunity to receive email when new links are added. There is an online anthropology glossary and a Feature of the month. Access Pegasus, USCB's online catalog

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on 04/02/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT