Ask Us!

Databases &
E-Journals

Quick Guide to the Almost Virtual Library

Aero/Astro Virtual Reference


Finding Guide for NASA Technical Reports


Aeronautics and Astronautics Library

Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics


Barbara Williams
Subject Selector for Aeronautics & Astronautics
barbaraw@mit.edu

 




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Subject Guides   

Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aero/Astro Virtual Reference Collection

Acronyms
Aircraft Accidents
Airfoil Data
Associations and Societies
Books
Chemical/Physical Data
Colleges and Universities
Companies
Encyclopedias
Government Agencies
Grants
History

Images
Internet
Jobs and Employment
Law
Museums
Other Reference Sites
Patents
Space Agencies
Standards
Statistics
Style Manuals


Acronyms

Acronym and Abbreviation Server

 

Aircraft Accidents

NTSB Aviation Accident Database

 

Airfoil Data

UIUC Airfoil Data Site

 

Associations
And Societies

Aerospace Industries Association
American Astronomical Society
American Helicopter Society (AHS)
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) (Information on membership, conferences, publications, the organization, and more.)
The American Physical Society (APS)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)
Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute
German Aeronautics and Aerospace Association (DLR)
Greater Boston Soaring Club
Mars Society (U.K.)
Mars Society (U.S.)
MIT Rocket Society (HPRS)
Planetary Society
Royal Aeronautical Society (U.K.)
Soaring Society of America
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
Space Frontier Foundation
Students for the Exploration and Development of Space
Universities Space Research Association (USRA)

 

Books

JPL's Basics of Spaceflight
Encyclopedia Astronautica

 

Chemical/Physical Data

Calculating Standard Atmospheres
Gas-Phase Ion Thermochemistry
Periodic Table (Chemicool version)
Periodic Table (WebElements version)
Physical Reference Data (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
Thermophysical Properties of Fluid Systems (National Institute of Standards and Technology)

 

Colleges And Universities

Adventures in Education (financial aid and admissions information)
College and University Home Pages (US and international)
U.S. News Colleges and Careers Center (undergrad and grad school rankings, admissions, funding)
FinAid: The Financial Aid Information Page
International Course Information (Education Finder)
Peterson's Education & Career Center
Study Abroad Programs Directory

 

Companies

10K Wizard (SEC filings and financial analysis) - requires subscription
Airline Data Project (Airline industry data and information about individual airlines collected by the MIT Global Industry Program)
Company Information: U.S. (links to electronic directories, and information on print directories at MIT's Dewey Library)
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Hoover’s Online (Covers in-depth information on nearly 14,000 companies, both private and public, and US and non-US. Provides corporate strategy, history, competitors, financials, key executives, and industry trends that can affect a company's growth now and in the future).


Encyclopedias

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology [AccessScience]
Britannica Online (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Encyclopedia Astronautica


Government Agencies

Department of Defense
Department of Transportation
The Federal Aviation Administration Server
National Aeronautical and Space Agency
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
U.S. Air Force Homepage
U.S. Air Force Institute of Technology
U.S. Department of Energy


Grants

FinAid Grant Information
The Foundation Center
Grants Information (information in the MIT Libraries on arts funding)
GrantsWeb
NEH Summer Seminars and Institutes for College and University Teachers
NSF Funding Opportunities and Awards

 

History

NASA History
NASA Dryden
Naval Aviation

 

Images

NASA Photo Gallery
NASA Image Exchange

 

Internet

CGI Resource Index
Google
How to choose a search engine
Internet Public Library
Urban Legends Reference Pages
More Internet Urban Legends
Internet2
Listserv List
The Net: User Net Guides and Netiquette
Netcraft-What's that site running?
Search Engine Watch (information on the various web search engines)
Virtual Library (CERN)
WebTaxi (metasearch engine)
Yahoo


Jobs And Employment

Academe This Week (from The Chronicle of Higher Education)
CareerBuilder
CareerOneStop
College Grad Job Hunter
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Finding a Job (guide to print resources in MIT's Dewey Library)
MIT Office of Career Services (information for job-seekers, including JOBTRAK online job listings)
The Riley Guide (employment opportunities and job resources on the internet)
Science's Next Wave (career and job-hunting information for scientists; registration required)
Monster - Campus (career planning resources)

 

Law

Access - Intellectual Property Law
Copyright and Fair Use (Stanford University)
Copyright Law Materials (Cornell)
FindLaw (internet legal resources)
The Internet Law Library (U.S. House of Representatives)
Internet Legal Research Group
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
Legislative Tracking System (Massachusetts bill histories)
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
Patent Law (Cornell University)
Patents (links to patent web sites, and guide to services available through MIT's Barker Engineering Library)
Thomas (congressional information)
The U.S. Code

 

Museums

Air & Space Museum
Home of the International B-24 Museum
US Air Force Museum

 

Patents

MIT Libraries Patents site

 

Space Agencies

Andoya Rocket Range - Norwegian Space Center
ASI - Italian Space Agency
British National Space Centre
CANOPUS Space Agency (Canada)
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (Australia)
CNES - Centre National d'Études Spatiales (France)
CIRA - Centro Italiano Ricerche Aerospaziali (Italian Aerospace Research Center)
CSA - Canadian Space Agency
DLR - Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Luft und Raumfahrt (German Aerospace Research Establishment)
European Space Agency
German Aerospace Research Establishment: DLR
Indian Space Research Organization
Institute of Space Physics (Sweden)
Italian Space Agency
National Aeronautical and Space Agency
National Commission on Space Activities (Argentina)
National Aerospace Laboratory (Netherlands)
National Institute for Space Research (Brazil)
National Space Development Agency (Japan)
ONERA - The French National Aerospace Research Establishment
ONERA-CERT - The French National Aerospace Research Establishment - Toulouse Research Center
Russian Academy of Sciences - Space Research Institute
SRON - Space Research Organization Netherlands
SSC - Swedish Space Corporation

 

Standards



Barker Engineering Library Standards


Statistics




Fedstats (one stop shopping federal statistics)
Harvard-MIT Data Center (MIT and Harvard only)

 

Style Manuals




The Mayfield Handbook of Technical and Scientific Writing (MIT only)
Style/Usage Manuals

 

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 02/29/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT