Databases & E-Journals
Quick Guide to the Almost Virtual Library
Aero/Astro Virtual Reference
Finding Guide for NASA Technical Reports
Aeronautics and Astronautics Library
Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics Barbara Williams Subject Selector for Aeronautics & Astronautics barbaraw@mit.edu
Databases for Aeronautics E-Journals for Aeronautics
The links above will connect to the Vera database of MIT's electronic resources. Vera is the gateway to all electronic resources offered by the MIT Libraries.
More information on especially useful Aeronautics resources:
Databases | Handbooks | Encyclopedias | Books
Databases - a database is like a search engine for journal articles, conference papers and, sometimes, technical reports. Below are the basic databases for Aerospace Engineering in order of significance in the field:
You will find an alphabetical list of these and other useful databases in Vera.
[back to top]
Handbooks - Handbooks provide data and can include review articles. Use Knovel to search many handbooks at one time, or try the on-line version of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Encyclopedias - Search for general information about a topic. The best is the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, which contains the full text of the 8th edition of the print encyclopedia as well as over 115,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
Books - To find books at MIT, search Barton, the online catalog. To find a book that is not at MIT, search Worldcat, a database of all books cataloged through the Library of Congress.
This page was last updated on 02/29/08