Writing courses home
Locate the full text
Evaluate information
Cite sources
Get help
Information Navigator
Writing Courses on Stellar
Humanities Library humanities@mit.edu
Once you've searched databases, you will have a list of citations to track down. When looking for the full text of the documents you need (articles, books, etc.), follow these guidelines:
If the database you're seaching has an SFX button or "Get this - MIT" link, click it. SFX tells you if the item you want is full text in other databases and/or if that item is physically in the MIT Libraries (via Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog).
First check Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog to find out if we own the book or journal you need. Search by "Title begins with" for a book. For journals, click the "Journals" option on the top menu, then search by "Journal title begins with."
If you're looking for a journal, check Vera to find out if the journal you need is a full-text e-journal. Type the journal title into the "Find titles of journals or databases" search box, and click "Display List." If we subscribe to that journal electronically, it will provide the link for you.
Search the Boston Library Consortium libraries for books and journals from libraries in the area. You can go to these libraries yourself to make photocopies or check out books.
BLC Libraries catalogs - search each individually for a book. If you plan to borrow the book, you first need a BLC card from an MIT library reference desk.
Inter-Library Borrowing (ILB) is a service offered at no cost to you. Request a book or journal article from another library. This service may take as little as 3 days, or up to 2 weeks. Plan ahead! http://libraries.mit.edu/ilb
This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:33 EDT