Ask Us!

Writing Courses Home

Locate the full text

Evaluate Information

Cite Sources

Get Help


Information Navigator



Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator, Humanities
(617) 258-8022
szarko@mit.edu
IM Screen Names:
Yahoo!: mszarko
AIM: szarkomit
Jabber: szarko

You can also see if I'm online to IM me through the window below:





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Interphase

Find Information for Interphase Writing


Background Reading & Reference Resources

CQ Researcher [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/cqresearcher
Published weekly, highlights current & controversial issues.
Virtual Reference Collection
http://libraries.mit.edu/virtual ref
Web-based resources collected by MIT librarians.
Public Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org
"Nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization"
Librarians' Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org
General biographical information.

back to top of page


Books

Find books written by or about your author or subject in the MIT Libraries.

Barton, MIT Libraries catalog
http://libraries.mit.edu/barton
Identify books in all the MIT Libraries - by author, title or subject. Check for availability and library location.

back to top of page


Databases for Articles

Search for articles on your topic published in academic journals, popular magazines and newspapers. MIT only means that you need certificates to have access from off campus.

For a complete list of all our databases, check Vera.

Searching Several Sources at Once

Vera Multi-Search [MIT only]
http://vera.mit.edu:8080/multi/

Allows you to search several of the databases listed below at once.

  • Pros - can save time; often useful for figuring out where the best places to search are
  • Cons - not as powerful as searching the original database; some search results will be incomplete

 

Newspapers

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lexis-nexis
Full text from local, national & international newspapers (including the New York Times). Coverage varies, 1970's - present for some papers.
Factiva [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/factiva

Full text from local, national & international newspapers (including the Wall St. Journal). Coverage varies, 1970's - present for some papers.
Ethnic NewsWatch [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ethnic
Full-text of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
ProQuest Research Library [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/proquest
Multi-disciplinary database; many full-text articles. May limit to news.

 

Articles (Scholarly, Popular, News)

ProQuest Research Library [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/proquest
Multi-disciplinary database; many full-text articles. May limit to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.
Social Sciences Abstracts [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ssa

Indexes 550 English-language journals; covers 1983-present.
PsycInfo [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/psycinfo
Includes articles from professional psychology journals; chapters of books and more.

ProQuest Psychology Journals [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/psycinfo

Subset of PsycInfo, includes 300 core psychology journals in full text
Alternative Press Index [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/altpress

Includes non-mainstream magazines & journals. A great database for controversial topics, alternative points of view. Covers 1991 - present.

Readers' Guide [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/readers-gd

Covers many magazines and newspapers from 1890-present.

Essay and General Literature Index [MIT only]
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/essay

Collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences.

Other Article Databases

Not finding what you need in these databases? Try one of the subject lists in Vera!

back to top of page

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 06/13/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT