Ask Us!

Writing courses home

Locate the full text

Evaluate information

Get help


Information Navigator



Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator, Humanities
(617) 258-8022
szarko@mit.edu


Yahoo! IM: mszarko
AIM: szarkomit
Jabber: szarko





MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

21W.730: Writing on Contemporary Issues: Social and Ethical Issues

Resources for Researching Your Topic

Use a variety of resources to find out about the many issues involving your topic. Start with these:

Getting Started || Books || Articles || Refworks

Getting Started on a Topic

  • Background information gives some context about viewpoints, terms, debates, and major issues.
  • Look for theories, people, keywords, and organizations that may be important to the topic.
  • Can help you narrow your topic to a specific aspect.
CQ Researcher
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/cqresearcher
  • Weekly publication
  • Covers current events & controversial topics
  • Written by and for congressional staff
  • Great background material!
  • Allows for 5 users at a time--try again later if you get a "busy" message.
  • For more information, try the "Using CQ Researcher" tutorial: http://libraries.mit.edu/tutorials/video/cq/cq.html
Public Agenda Issue Guides
http://www.publicagenda.org/
  • These "provide facts and figures, different perspectives and analysis of public attitudes from surveys conducted by Public Agenda and by other respected polling and news organizations."

Oxford Reference Online
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/oxfordref

  • Excellent source for definitions and quick background information
  • Covers a variety of disciplines
  • Better for quick information; most entries tend to be short
  • Access limited to 5 users; try again later if you can't get in
Britannica Online
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/britannica
  • Online encyclopedia
  • Coverage varies, depending on subject
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/accesssci
  • Great source of background information on science and technology topics
  • Some entries also contain useful visual material (images, diagrams, etc)
Librarian's Index to the Internet
http://www.lii.org
  • Pre-evaluated web sites arranged by subject; chosen and organized by librarians.
  • A great alternative to Google
Find other reference sources (e.g. encyclopedias and handbooks) on your topic in Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog
(see below in Books). You can also try our Virtual Reference Collection for other electronic resources.

back to top of page

 

 

BOOKS

Why?

  • Summarized knowledge on established areas of research. Can give thorough overviews of a topic.
  • A good starting point for selecting and refining a topic.
  • Contain bibliographies and reference lists that will help identify other important works on a subject.
  • A chapter may target the aspect of the topic you are writing about.

Search the following library catalogs to identify books on your topic:

BOOK CATALOGS
Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog
http://libraries.mit.edu/barton
Boston Library Consortium
libraries catalogs

http://www.blc.org

  • If MIT Libraries do not own the book you need, get a borrower's card from the reference desk to borrow books from BLC libraries.
  • Search each of the BLC libraries' catalogs separately, then go to that library and check the book out.

back to top of page

 

 

ARTICLES

Why?

  • Very current perspectives on an issue.
  • A great place to find highly specific information on a topic. Often the first place where new research is discussed.
  • Cover many publication types: journals, magazines, newspapers, chapters in books, conference papers, trade journals, etc.

NOTES:

- MIT Libraries subscribe to many journal article databases; some contain full text, others contain citations; abstracts only.
- You may want to search more than one to be comprehensive.
- See Locate the Full Text for guidance in tracking down the documents you need.
- From off-campus, you need certificates to access these databases.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY AND SUBJECT SPECIFIC ARTICLE DATABASES
Vera Multi-Search - new
http://vera.mit.edu:8080/multi/
  • Allows you to search several databases at the same time.
  • Currently a beta.
  • Not always as effective as searching the native interface, although its ability to search across platforms can reveal which databases make the most sense to investigate further.
ProQuest Research Library
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/proquest
  • Covers a wide range of subject areas.
  • Includes a mix of popular magazines & academic journals.
  • Many full-text articles.
LexisNexis Academic Universe
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lexis-nexis
  • Full-text (text only - no images) of local, national and international newspapers.
Web of Science
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/webofsci
  • Despite its name, this database allows you to search in the Humanities and Social Sciences as well.
  • In order to use the SFX buttons to retrieve the full-text of articles, please be sure to set your browser to allow popups.
Alternative Press Index
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/altpress
  • 1991 - present
  • Articles from 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
  • Citations & abstracts only, with possible links to full text (use SFX button).

Social Sciences Abstracts
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ssa

  • 1983 - present
  • Articles from 400 journals.
  • Covers sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
  • Citations & abstracts only, with possible links to full text (use SFX button).
Ethnic NewsWatch
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ethnic
  • Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and Native press.
Project Muse
  • Provides access to scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines.
JSTOR
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/jstor
  • Provides access to scholarly journals from a variety of disciplines.
MIT LIBRARIES DATABASES FOR OTHER SUBJECTS
Vera
http://libraries.mit.edu/vera
  • MIT Libraries' gateway to databases in various subject areas
Film Studies
http://libraries.mit.edu/guides/subjects/media/
  • Provides alphabetical list of databases and e-journals in film studies.
HOW TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT A MAGAZINE, JOURNAL OR NEWSPAPER
Ulrich's International Periodicals
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ulrichs
  • Provides information on magazines, journals, and newspapers, including whether the title is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
  • Peer-reviewed (or refereed) titles have a symbol shaped like a referee's shirt next to them.
  • Some entries have reviews, which can sometimes tell you a publication's political slant.
Note: Only 5 users can be in at one time,
so if access is denied, try again later.

For more help with searching databases, you can also consult our online tutorials at: http://libraries.mit.edu/tutorials/video/index.html.

 

Refworks

Refworks is a web-based resource designed to help you to organize references and create a bibliography. It allows you to search, retrieve relevant citations, and build your bibliography. It allows users to create individual or group accounts, and makes it easy write papers, or post your results to web pages.

 

back to top of page

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 03/05/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT