Ask Us!

Other Literature Resources


Information Navigator



Mark Szarko
Instruction Coordinator, Humanities
(617) 258-8022
szarko@mit.edu
Yahoo! IM: mszarko
AIM: szarkomit

If I'm online, you can also IM me through the window below:




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

21L.430: Popular Narrative: Elements of Style

Resources for Researching Your Topic

I've designed the following list of resources to get you started with your research.

Quick Look-Up Information || Books || Articles

 

QUICK LOOK-UP INFORMATION

The following sources will provide quick but brief background information on a topic, including the definitions of literary terms and biographical information on an author.

Oxford English Dictionary
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/oed
  • Web version of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).
Oxford Reference Online
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/oxfordref
  • Excellent source for definitions and quick background information.
  • Covers a variety of disciplines, so click on "Literature" or "Politics & Social Sciences" to limit your search for this class.
  • Better for quick information such as terms or very basic information about authors and texts; most entries tend to be short.
  • Access limited to 5 users; try again later if you can't get in.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ltco
  • Provides an overview and historical survey of literary and cultural theory from Plato to postmodernism.
  • Coverage is international.
  • Essays provide more in-depth coverage of topic.
  • Entries cover both individuals and schools of thought.
Literature Resource Center
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/galelit
  • Provides both biographical information and selected literary criticism on a wide range of authors.
  • Covers three major literary encyclopedias published by Gale: Contemporary Author, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • Access limited to 2 users; try again later if you can't get in.
Literature Online (LION)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lion
  • Contains biographical information, literary criticism, and some full-text access to selected literary works.
  • Includes access to 2 literature databases: the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
  • Access limited to 4 users; try again later if you can't get in.
Britannica Online
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/britannica
  • Online encyclopedia
  • Coverage varies, depending on subject
Find other reference sources (e.g. encyclopedias and handbooks) on your topic in Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog
(see below in Books). You can also try our Virtual Reference Collection for other electronic resources.

back to top of page

 

 

BOOKS

Search the following library catalogs to identify books on your topic. Remember that book chapters may be excellent sources of information, and that most books will contain a bibliography of other potentially useful sources.

BOOK DATABASES
Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog
http://libraries.mit.edu/barton
Boston Library Consortium
libraries catalogs

http://www.blc.org

  • If MIT Libraries do not own the book you need, get a borrower's card from the reference desk to borrow books from BLC libraries.
  • Search each of the BLC libraries' catalogs separately, then go to that library and check the book out.

back to top of page

 

 

ARTICLES

NOTES:

- MIT Libraries subscribe to many journal article databases; some contain full text, others contain citations; abstracts only.
- You may want to search more than one to be comprehensive.
- See Locate the Full Text for guidance in tracking down the documents you need.
- From off-campus, you need certificates to access these databases.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY AND SUBJECT SPECIFIC ARTICLE DATABASES
LION
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lion
  • Allows you to search 2 literary databases at once: MLA and ABELL.
  • Access limited to 4 users; try again later if you can't get in.
MLA International Bibliography
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/mla
  • Excellent source for literary criticism.
  • Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide.
  • Provides citations of articles or book chapters; you'll need to use Barton or Vera and search for the title of the journal to find the actual article.
  • Also searchable through LION.
ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (part of LION)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/abell
  • A database within LION (Literature Online), ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature - contains over 500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
JSTOR
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/jstor
  • Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature.
  • All articles are full-text.
Project Muse
  • Interdisciplinary scope covers a range of subjects, including literature.
  • Most articles are full-text, although access to some may be through links.
MIT LIBRARIES DATABASES FOR OTHER SUBJECTS
Vera
http://libraries.mit.edu/vera
  • MIT Libraries' gateway to databases in various subject areas
HOW TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT A MAGAZINE, JOURNAL OR NEWSPAPER
Ulrich's Internationl Periodicals
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ulrichs
  • Provides information on magazines, journals, and newspapers, including whether the title is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
  • Peer-reviewed (or refereed) titles have a symbol shaped like a referee's shirt next to them.
  • Some entries have reviews, which can sometimes tell you a publication's political slant.
Note: Only 5 users can be in at one time,
so if access is denied, try again later.

back to top of page

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 03/18/08


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT