Ask Us!

STS.091 Home

Find Background Information

Find Books

Find Articles

Get Full Text

Build a Bibliography With Refworks

Find Primary Sources

Find News Sources

Evaluate Information

Get Help


Information Navigator



Michelle Baildon
STS Librarian
baildon@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages      

STS.091: Capstone Seminar in STS Studies I

Finding News Sources

NOTES:
- MIT Libraries subscribe to many article databases; some contain full text, others contain citations; abstracts only.
- You may want to search more than one to be comprehensive.
- See Locate the Full Text for guidance on tracking down the documents you need.
- From off-campus, you need certificates to access these databases.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY AND SUBJECT SPECIFIC ARTICLE DATABASES
LexisNexis Academic Universe
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/lexis-nexis
  • Full-text (text only - no images) of local, national and international newspapers.
Factiva
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/factiva
  • News articles and business information from over 8000 sources
ProQuest Research Library
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/proquest
  • Covers a wide range of subject areas.
  • Includes a mix of popular magazines & academic journals.
  • Many full-text articles.
Readers Guide Abstracts
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/readers-gd
  • 1984 - present
  • Articles in popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.
  • Citations & abstracts only, with possible links to full text (use SFX button).
Alternative Press Index
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/altpress
  • 1991 - present
  • Articles from 250 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
  • Citations & abstracts only, with possible links to full text (use SFX button).
Contemporary Women's Issues
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/contemp-wi
  • 1992 - present
  • Full-text access to information on women in over 150 countries from journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
Women's Studies International
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/wsi
  • 1972 - present
  • Indexes women's studies articles from journals, newspapers, newsletters, and bulletins, in addition to books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.
Ethnic NewsWatch
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ethnic
  • 1990 - present
  • Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and Native press.
ISI Emerging Markets
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/emerg-mkts
  • 1995 - present
  • News from emerging markets in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa.
World News Connection
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/world-news
  • 1995 - present
  • Full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation
MIT LIBRARIES DATABASES FOR OTHER SUBJECTS
Vera Multi-Search - new
http://vera.mit.edu:8080/multi/
  • Allows you to search several databases at the same time.
  • Currently a beta.
  • Not always as effective as searching the native interface, although its ability to search across platforms can reveal which databases make the most sense to investigate further.
Vera
http://libraries.mit.edu/vera
  • MIT Libraries' gateway to databases in various subject areas
HOW TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT A MAGAZINE, JOURNAL OR NEWSPAPER
Ulrich's International Periodicals
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/ulrichs
  • Provides information on magazines, journals, and newspapers, including whether the title is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
  • Peer-reviewed (or refereed) titles have a symbol shaped like a referee's shirt next to them.
  • Some entries have reviews, which can sometimes tell you a publication's political slant.
Note: Only 5 users can be in at one time,
so if access is denied, try again later.

 

 

 

 


empty

This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:33 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT