Ask Us!

STS.091 Home

Find Background Information

Find Books

Find Articles

Get Full Text

Build a Bibliography With Refworks

Find Primary Sources

Find News Sources

Find Evaluate Information

Get Help


Information Navigator



Michelle Baildon
STS Librarian
baildon@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages      

STS.091: Capstone Seminar in STS Studies I

Finding Background Information on Your Topic


Reference Material:
Reference sources (like encyclopedias and dictionaries) may be useful for finding facts and background information and to give you context for your reading and writing. For additional resources useful to your specific topic, use Barton, or get help from MIT librarians.

ONLINE RESOURCES

Oxford Reference Online (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/oxfordref

Science, Technology, & Society (MIT only)
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t210

CQ Researcher (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/cqresearcher

Oxford Companion to the Mind (MIT only)
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t159

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/intencsocsci

Encyclopaedia Britannica (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/britannica/

Dictionary of Medical Biography (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/dmb

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (MIT only)
http://libraries.mit.edu/get/dsb

Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science (MIT only)
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t124

Other reference resources can be found in the Libraries' Virtual Reference Collection
http://libraries.mit.edu/help/virtualref.html

SELECTED PRINT RESOURCES
All materials listed are available in the MIT Humanities Library unless otherwise noted. Use Barton or WorldCat to identify additional resources.

  • Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, W. Edward Craighead & Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. New York: Wiley, 2001. REF BF31.E52 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology, Alan E. Kazdin, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. REF BF31.E53 2000
  • A Historical Dictionary of Psychiatry, Edward Shorter, ed.. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005. STACKS RC438.S53 2005
  • Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory, Roberta E. Pearson and Philip Simpson, ed. New York: Routledge, 2001. REF PN1993.45.C75 2001
  • Encyclopedia of American Television: Broadcast Programming Post World War II to 2000, Ron Lackmann, ed. New York: Checkmark Books, 2003. REF PN1992.18.L33 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd edition, Horace Newcomb, ed. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. REF PN1992.18.E53 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Television Subjects, Themes and Settings, Vincent Terrace, ed. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 2007. REF PN1993.3.I545

 


empty

This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:33 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT