Ask Us!

Library Research

Choose a topic

Search Databases


Evaluate your sources

Cite your sources


1.018/7.30J Stellar page

Anne Graham
Librarian for Civil and Environmental Engineering
grahama@mit.edu

Chris Sherratt
Librarian for Energy, Environmental Science and Nuclear Engineering
gcsherra@mit.edu

 




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

1.018J/7.30J Ecology 1: The Earth System

Search Databases

General databases like Proquest will familiarize you with a subject. There are different databases for different subjects.

Access to all databases and electronic journals and books available to MIT is through Vera.

Try these databases for articles on your topic. (Among MANY other journals, they all index Science and Nature.)

BIOSIS Previews Journal, conference & report papers in major biological fields including biomedicine, biochemistry, bioengineering & biophysics, ecology & environment. 1964 - present.
Compendex Articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering. 1884 - present.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Collection Journal & conference articles, reports, books & government publications with comprehensive coverage of environmental & pollution issues. 1981- Present.
Oceanic Abstracts Comprehensive index to worldwide oceanography literature. 1981 - present.
Web of Science

Journal articles in high-impact science, social science, engineering, arts and humanities. 1973 - present.

Major feature: Cited reference searching retrieves papers that have referenced earlier works by a specific author.

 

Finding Journals and Books         

Are they at MIT?

Barton is the MIT Libraries' Catalog and contains the location of all library materials. Remember, it contains titles, authors, and subject headings for books, journal names, and conference proceedings - NOT the titles and authors of articles contained within them.

VERA is the MIT Libraries' list of electronic journals and databases you can search for journal and conference articles. Check here for journal titles if you can't find them in Barton.

If not...

If MIT doesn't own it, you can get it for FREE through Interlibrary Borrowing.

Back to top

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:33 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT