Overview

Articles

Features

Lists & Appendices

Searching

Search Results & Refining Searches



Rotch Visual Collections

The Grove Dictionary of Art




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Navigating Grove's Dictionary of Art

Searching and Search Strategies

Capitalization: It is not necessary to be case-specific when typing your search query, even for proper names. Typing the letters in either upper or lower case will retrieve the results.

Multiple Words & Phrases: To search for a phrase, type double quotation marks around it -- "phrase terms"-- .The search will find instances of both words together, exactly as typed. Without the quotation marks a search will find results that contain both words or either word. Articles containing both words, not necessarily together, will appear first in the search results.

Special characters: It is not necessary to key the accents on foreign letters or other special characters when conducting a search. Typing the characters without accents will locate the article.

Spelling conventions: The Grove Dictionary of Art uses British spellings, such as 'armoury', 'colour', 'centre', 'kilometre' and 'theatre'. Searches on American spellings may retrieve only a limited number of articles. If your search retrieves fewer results than you expected, try using an alternative British spelling.

Wildcards: Use wildcards in any search if you are uncertain how to spell a word or to match a range of characters:

? matches any single character (Sm?th will find Smith and Smyth)

* matches any number of characters (Const* will find Constable, Constance, Constantia, Constantine, Construction, Constructivism)

[ ] matches a single character from within the brackets (Sm[iy]th will find Smith or Smyth); specifying a numerical range using a hyphen will find numbers within that range (199[0-9] will match dates from 1990 to 1999).

~ preceding a word matches words that sound alike (~mikelanjelo will match Michelangelo).

SEARCHING

Searches
Uses
Search Options

QUICK SEARCH

(at top of page: same as Article Search)

 

DICTIONARY ARTICLE

 

To search article titles for an article on a particular subject.

 

 

 

To search article titles for an article on a particular subject.

 

 

Concept search (Default)(Results ranked): Searches on a concept, matching any words that are synonymous or related in meaning or form (e.g. plurals). I

Pattern search(Results ranked) : This search mode looks for words similar in spelling to those entered and is useful when searching for words with alternative spellings. I

Boolean search(Results not ranked) : Searches only for exact matches for a word or a phrase. Useful when you are searching for a proper noun (Picasso or London). Boolean operators (AND, ADJ, OR, NOT) are helpful in refining your search. I

Expert search: (Results ranked) Allows you to search more precisely in concept and pattern modes and to select and exclude specific meanings of a word (in concept mode) or specific spelling variations (in pattern mode). It also allows you to alter the weight of different words within your query. I

FULL TEXT

 

To search the entire text of the dictionary for every mention of a subject.
Bibliographies This facility is used to carry out a full text search on the bibliographical entries of the dictionary only. Search by author (using first initial and surname); book, exhibition or article title; or city and date of publication (not publisher). Omit all punctuation except apostrophies or enclose the term(s) in double quotation marks. In the results list, the heading of the article is displayed, along with the bibliography item that matched the search.

Contributors

 

This full text search facility is used to locate all the articles written by a contributor. Search by author's full name or any part of a name, omitting all punctuation except apostrophies or enclose the terms in double quotation marks.

Captions (for figures)

 

Use this facility to carry out a full text search on figure reference captions for black-and-white illustrations that appear in the 34-volume printed dictionary only. Search on any word or words. A list of articles that have illustration captions matching your criteria will be displayed, along with the entire text of the caption. A picture frame icon denotes the specially commissioned maps, charts, diagrams and family trees that may be viewed by clicking on the icon. Captions without an icon identify illustrations that appear in the printed version of the dictionary and may not be available online.

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:31 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT