Overview

Articles

Features

Lists & Appendices

Searching

Search Results & Refining Searches



Rotch Visual Collections

The Grove Dictionary of Art




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Navigating Grove's Dictionary of Art

LISTS AND APPENDICES

Features
Description
LOCATION (Vol. 33, Appendix A) List of locations or repositories of artwork, i.e. institutions such as museums, galleries, etc. List organized alphabetically by the city where the institution is located.
PERIODICAL TITLES (Vol. 33, Appendix B) List of these titles cited in abbreviated form in the bibliographies.

STANDARD REFERENCE BOOKS (Vol. 33, Appendix C)

(Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Preferred Editions, Series)

List of abbreviations used in bibliographies for alphabetically arranged dictionaries and encyclopedias, preferred editions of books frequently cited in this dictionary, and publisher's series.
GENERAL ABBREVIATIONS (Vol. 1) List of the full form of all abbreviations of works of art, titles of periodicals and reference works, and miscellaneous words.
LIST OF CONTRIBUTORS (Vol. 33, Appendix D) List of authors of dictionary articles.
NON-WESTERN DYNASTIES & PEOPLES (Vol. 34)

Two lists:

  • Dynasties are arranged in three categories (Indian Subcontinent, Islamic, and Southeast Asia)Note: dynasty information is often found in the History section for a particular country, for example, Egypt: History.
  • Peoples are arranged by continent (Africa, Americas, Asia, Australia and Pacific Islands)

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:31 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT