Overview

Articles

Features

Lists & Appendices

Searching

Search Results & Refining Searches



Rotch Visual Collections

The Grove Dictionary of Art




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Navigating Grove's Dictionary of Art

FEATURES

Features
Description
Options & Contents
SEARCH A facility to search for an article by heading or for any term in the dictionary by means of a full text search or more specialized search. Searching

INDEX

Definition of Index (Indexing A to Z) : an alphabetically or otherwise ordered arrangement of entries, different from the order of the material in the indexed document, and designed to enable its users to locate information in it. Includes indentification and location of concepts and topics in the text that are relevant to the intended audience.

A selective alphabetical listing of references, both general and highly specific in the dictionary, compiled to be useful and accessible, enabling readers to locate both general and highly specific information quickly and easily.

Logic, content, and structure of the Index:

  • Range of entries cited in the index is as comprehensive as that covered by articles in the dictionary
  • References to artists, patrons' activity, and buildings cite for the most part only substantial or significant discussions
  • Sites and cities are indexed under the first word of their own name; uninhabited archaeological sites are indexed under their ancient names; buildings are indexed under the name of the town in which they are located
  • Long index entries are divided into a number of subheadings, under which references to particular aspects of the subject are cited
  • Cities, sites, countries and cultures entries include references to art production and activity as well as buildings therein
  • The index contains numerous cross references to direct the reader from variant spellings of a word or from similar term

- architecture and art

- forms

- materials

- schools, movements & styles

- specific artworks, buildings & sites

- artists, architects

- organizations, associations, galleries, museums, ethnic groups, etc.

- cities (architecture; art styles; art forms; materials)

 

A-Z BROWSE A list of the headings of all the articles in this dictionary. Use this facility to find an article by browsing the headings/titles.  
HELP? Alphabetized information on searching and using the site generally.  

BRIDGEMAN IMAGES

Online database of 35,000+ images with own searchable database. Image caption includes: image #; title; artist; century; location of artwork; and keywords.

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:31 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT