Overview

Articles

Features

Lists & Appendices

Searching

Search Results & Refining Searches



Rotch Visual Collections

The Grove Dictionary of Art




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Navigating Grove's Dictionary of Art

Articles

Dictionary articles or entries comprise the following types:

  1. Biographies of artists of all kinds
  2. Biographies of patrons, collectors, dealers, theorists, writers, art historians, museum officials, critics & teachers
  3. Groups (of unknown individual identities)/ Non-Western Peoples
  4. Countries
  5. Cities
  6. Sites
  7. Artistic Styles; Schools; Groups & Movements
  8. Forms, Themes & Subject Matter of Art (including the history of architectural building types)
  9. Materials & Techniques of Art
  10. History of Art Patronage
  11. Major Religions of the World
  12. Theoretical & General Issues (Abstraction; Aesthetics; Art Legislation; Ornament & Pattern; Forgery; Iconoclasm; Semiotics, etc.)

ARTICLE CONTENT

Text
Elements

Within an article:

  • search terms are highlighted (if that selection is made at the start of a search)
  • cross-references are underlined and highlighted (in a different color than the search terms), clicking on it moves you to the article for that reference
  • figure references with images available for viewing online are also underlined and highlighted
  • Bibliography appears at the end of the article.

Navigating:

  • move from different pages within an article
  • move between next and previous articles in the dictionary
  • when an article is viewed from the article search results, a Search Navigation bar is displayed at the bottom of the screen to allow you to move through the search results without having to return to the results list.

In a list format in a smaller frame to the right of the article are a number of useful features, including the following (NOTE: not all links are active; additional information is not provided through these links for every article):

External Images: links you to images in external web sites relevant to the current article (basic information about the image is also provided, e.g., title and date of work, dimensions, medium, repository).

Maps, charts and diagrams: Specially commissioned maps, charts and diagrams relevant to the current article may be available.
Abbreviations: provides the full form of an abbreviation, as locations of works of art, titles of periodicals and reference works, as well as certain words appear in abbreviated form within an article or bibliography. Abbreviations and full forms may also be viewed in the Locations, Periodical Titles, and Standard Reference Books and Series lists.
Related articles: displays a list of articles related to the subject of the current article.
Table of Contents: allows you to scroll through the headings in the table of contents usingthe scroll bar and click on a heading to move to that section in the article.

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Thursday, 16-Jul-2009 08:02:31 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT