Overview

Articles

Features

Lists & Appendices

Searching

Search Results & Refining Searches



Rotch Visual Collections

The Grove Dictionary of Art




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
Course Pages   

Navigating Grove's Dictionary of Art

Overview

The Grove Dictionary of Art

Grove's is a comprehensive illustrated online reference resource for art historians and students of architecture and the visual arts. The printed version of the Grove Dictionary of Art is available in Rotch Library reference collection (N31.D5 1996, vols. 1-34).

Access for the MIT community is available through Vera, the MIT Libraries database guide.

The online dictionary contains 45,000+ articles on every aspect of the visual arts -- painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography -- from prehistory to the present day. It contains 86,000 cross references to guide users to further significant discussions of a topic elsewhere in the dictionary.The 500,000 bibliographic citations represent an authoritative suggestion of additional sources for further information on a subject. More than 24,000 external image links are currently associated with articles in the dictionary providing images of works of art from collections worldwide.

Bridgeman Art Library

The Bridgeman Art Library, an online database of 35,000+ images of painting, sculpture, architecture, and the decorative arts, is available from within Grove's Dictionary of Art and offers subscribers access to the foremost collection of fine art images. Images include works from museums and private collections; works in situ (including frescos and decorative arts); architecture; and images of historical events and people. This collection will be constantly updated and extended, with the ultimate aim of providing over 100,000 images to illustrate the dictionary's 45,000+ articles.

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on 09/18/07


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT