Ask Us!

Searching via the Web

Borrowing Items Not at MIT

Seaching via Athena


Search a FirstSearch database



RISG (Reference and Instructional Support Group)

risg-lib@mit.edu




MIT

MIT libraries MIT Libraries
   

FirstSearch

Searching a FirstSearch Database via the Web

FirstSearch, a group of databases from the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC), provides references to books and journal articles.

(Note: the FirstSearch databases represent only a small portion of the databases offered by the MIT Libraries.)

Click on one of the databases listed at the MIT database FirstSearch page. When you arrive at the database page, you will find options in the sidebar:

  • Choose a database. You can choose either "List All" for an alphabetical list, or "List by Topic" for a catagorical list. If you prefer to use the"Suggest Best" option, enter keyword, author or source words and choose a category from the pull-down menu; the system will suggest databases. Choose up to three that you wish to search simultaneously.

  • Click on Searching from the left frame for the following options:

    • Basic Search
      Type search terms. We recommend not limiting to items at MIT. Click on Search. Click on a title from the results list to see a detailed record. Use navigation buttons to see previous or next pages or records. Mark items for emailing, printing, or activating the ILL function. A Mark All button appears at the end of each page of titles.

    • Advanced Search
      Advanced searching allows Boolean combinations of various fields and permits more limits than the Basic Search. As in Basic Search, click on a title to see full record; use navigation buttons as needed.

    • Expert Search
      Type search terms directly using reference information on screen.

  • Truncation
    The truncation symbol + permits searching for a word and its plural form of -s or -es. The symbol * permits searching for a word and variations by entering a minimum of the first 3 letters. The # represents a single character. The ? alone or with a number represents zero (or more) characters. # and ? can be used at the middle or end.
    • mammal+ = mammal and/or mammals
    • psychi* = psychiatric, psychiatrist, psychiatry, psychic
    • wom#n = woman, women
    • colo?r = color, colour, colonizer, colorimeter
    • colo?1r = color, colour, but not colonizer or colorimeter

  • Downloading Searches
    Mark individual records or click on Mark All to save or print. Click on Email icon to mail results.

 

 


empty

empty This page was last updated on Friday, 16-Oct-2009 15:42:39 EDT


empty
MIT Libraries MIT MIT Librariesc: 2001, MIT Libraries MIT